memory management bsod ongoing...

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by fireman0175, Jan 31, 2014.

  1. fireman0175

    fireman0175 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I have been battling a bsod since I moved my guts to a larger case and installed a EVGA GPU (which I have since uninstalled and believe I got all the drivers too. I have updated my bios and ran Driver Verifier for 48 hours w/o a bsod. I just disabled it, restarted and 1 hour later a bsod.

    Gateway SX2802 with 4x2gb ram, Q8300 core quad cpu, big hard drive, etc. The only things new are two sticks of recommended memory for this computer. I have ran windows memory test with no problems other than a hardware issue that it won't tell me about. upload_2014-1-31_8-3-12. upload_2014-1-31_8-4-19. upload_2014-1-31_8-4-49. upload_2014-1-31_8-5-25. upload_2014-1-31_8-5-52. upload_2014-1-31_8-6-19. upload_2014-1-31_8-6-40.

    I believe the drivers are fine, but it has to be either the MB or a problem with the memory ram sticks. Any suggestions?
    Thank you in advance.

    I also am confused as the CPU-Z calls my MB different than what is stamped on the board of DIG43L. Gateway shows the specs http://support.gateway.com/s/desktop/2009/gateway/sx/sx2802/SX2802sp2.shtml
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 fireman0175, Jan 31, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2014
  2. fireman0175

    fireman0175 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update, I am trying only one stick of RAM for awhile to see of this resolves. My thoughts are I am using two different brands of the same 2gb ram with same specs, but they may not like each other.
     
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 1A, {41790, fffffa800098f970, ffff, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+35084 )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    your dmp file is showing memory management as the culprit and your doing the right thing by trying to run on one stick, testing everything is ok and then replacing it with another stick repeating the process. It might be as you say that the two different brands dislike each other? I've ran RAM that was different manufacturers and got away with it but it might not always be the case. You could also try running all sticks and this application to test for errors:
    http://www.memtest.org/
    Windows memory test just doesn't cut it but the above application is industry standard.

    I'll check through your drivers too:
    Run the Intel driver utility as your drivers are a little old:
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Default.aspx

    RTKVHD64.sys Mon Jul 20 11:52:29 2009: Realtek High Definition Audio Function Driver. Please update:
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=14&PFid=24&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

    CPU-Z might be reporting your board differently as it could be an OEM piece which is used by several different manufacturers in different machine set ups giving it a slightly different name depending on the machine it's used in.

    Post any new dmp files.

    Oh by the way.. SeaHawks FTW! I'll be watching Sunday for sure..
     
  4. fireman0175

    fireman0175 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, first of all, the Seahawks won and are the Superbowl Championship!

    Anyway, back to the issue. I ran the one 1st Choice Memory stick and it worked, I added the other dual channel stick and the failures occurred. So, i re-installed my original Gateway 2 stick of 2gb and it has ran fine for 2 days now. So far, so good with both the computer and the football game!
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    That's great.. As was the game.. Total domination by the Seahawks and what about the first snap by Denver? Kinda set the tone for their game..
    Any problems post back.
     

Share This Page

Loading...