More details emerge on the 8.1 Start menu.

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by kemical, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Guru3D have posted that the new 8.1 update, which previews tomorrow, will have a Start menu almost reminiscent of the windows 7 Start menu. Hot corners can be disabled as well as booting straight to desktop.
    How do they know this? Well Windows Server 2012 R2 already has the same options:

    menu.JPG

    As stated above, Windows Blue or 8.1 can accessed through the Store from the 26th June (tomorrow) with the RTM scheduled for August 1st.

    Read the Guru3D article here:

    New Windows 8.1 Start menu details
     
  2. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Lets hope that the critics, expert or posters, can move on to more informative discussion on Windows 8, after this release, instead of focussing too much on the absence of a start menu.. Maybe a small hope????
     
  3. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I think the hope is small that it will change people's opinions. I think it will just be a slap in the face to the people who already are upset about the startbutton/menu. Even with the changes I doubt you'll see many business adopt Windows 8 because of the learning curve.
    Joe
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Well if we look back to previous Windows incarnations both XP and Vista were considered truly awful until service packs/major updates were released.

    I'm sure this will be just the same...
     
  5. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well they say that Windows 8.1 is not a service pack. It is a more updated version of Windows 8. So it is in fact a new OS,so I was told.
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Why not see for yourself?
    Meet Windows 8.1 Preview - Microsoft Windows
     
    2 people like this.
  7. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes I am thinking of trying Windows 8.1 Beta now I have got Windows 8 Pro. They say Windows 8.1 will be a free update via the app store.

    The problem is as I am running Windows 8 on a netbook, the Metro apps don't work. So the only way I will be able to download the update is though Windows Update in Control Panel. The same way I get my other updates.
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    The reason why your metro apps don't work has nothing to do with the machine your using.. If you use Windows 8 with a local account then metro apps won't work. To use Windows 8 with full functionality then create a Microsoft account:

    https://login.live.com/login.srf?wa=wsignin1.0&rpsnv=11&ct=1374436908&rver=6.1.6206.0&wp=SAPI&wreply=https:%2F%2Faccount.live.com%2Fsummarypage.aspx&lc=2057&id=38936

    Using a Microsoft account will allow your pc to sync with your account meaning any changes made will automatically be saved. I know some users are sceptical of always being 'plugged in' but it really isn't the big brother scenario some think it is.
     
  9. strollin

    strollin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    36
    It's not necessary to operate Win 8 with an MS account, an account is needed to use the store but things work perfectly well with a local account.
     
  10. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well my netbooks only have a screen resolution of 1024x600 and that's the highest setting there is. So every time I try to open a Metro app,I get an error message saying my screen resolution is too low to run Metro apps.

    So to run Metro apps I should have a full sized laptop. But then I don't want to use Metro apps anyway and I am running my windows 8 like Windows 7. With Classic Shell to boot. Giving me the Windows 7 start menu,not Metro theme.
     
  11. strollin

    strollin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    36
    I don't run any Metro apps either, however, I use the stock Win 8 desktop without any 3rd party apps like classic shell.
     
  12. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    I am not saying that you cannot use it with only the Metro theme and Metro start menu,you can. Having a Windows 7 start menu just makes it easier to find things quickly that's all.

    Certainly you can use it with only the Metro them. Classic Shell is handy in other ways as disabling the Charms bar is in a way better. As sometime when you are browsing across a website if you run your mouse too far into the corner,the Charms Bar pops up.Which can be a bit annoying. That does not happen if you are using Classic shell and have disabled it.

    About Windows 8.1 what is different about it from Windows 8? I mean is it worth upgrading?

    As what Exactly has Windows 8.1 got that Windows 8 hasn't got? As I have never installed 8.1, so I don't know what it's like.
    And I have only just installed Windows 8 Pro,about 2 weeks ago.
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,847
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    You don't have to use a Microsoft account with windows 8 that's certainly true, just don't expect everything to function. (Apologies if i was unclear about that)

    I didn't realise about your screensize Andrea but then again it's a moot point as you don't use a microsoft account (I'm sure you posted that in a different thread)

    If you have questions about Windows 8.1 this handy FAQ will tell you all you need to know:

    Windows 8.1 Preview FAQ - Microsoft Windows

    And another:

    Everything you need to know about the Windows 8.1 Preview (FAQ) | ZDNet

    Plus one more:

    Windows 8.1 Guide: 25 Tips And Tricks - ComputerShopper.com
     
  14. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    Oh Oh. Look what I just read, it says you have to log in with a Microsoft account to use Windows 8.1 Preview.

    That puts me right off. I think that's stupid. On Windows 8 you don't have to do that.
     
    #14 Andrea Borman, Jul 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 22, 2013
  15. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I read it a lot, these days. But, just nosiness, I guess.I don't really understand why users find it a problem with signing in with an MS account?
    But. Disconnect your internet connection before install 8.1 and you will be fine.
    Windows 8.1 (full - RTM) will not have such a requirement
     
  16. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    I don't like to have a password on my account because I like to just boot up my computer and go. Besides I am the only one that uses my computer so I don't need a password.

    One of the reasons I gave up using Linux is because you are forced to have a password. Where as with Windows you are not.Why do I need to disconnect my computer from the Internet to install? Is there a danger that because they make you sign into Windows 8.1 with your Hotmail account,that someone can see everything I do on my computer and hack it?
     
  17. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    You appear not to have thoroughly understood, or read, your own, previous post?
    " it says you have to log in with a Microsoft account to use Windows 8.1 Preview"

    This has very little to do with using a password or not.
    I never use one, but I believe you will need a password to sign in to a local account also.
    Neither prevents you from bypassing the need to put in your login details. By a simple, and non-confidential procedure, it is very easy to alter the necessity.
     
    #17 davehc, Jul 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 22, 2013
  18. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    No I have an ordinary admin account on my windows 8 computer the same as I do on windows 7. And I don't have a password as I did not set it up that way. I never have a password on Windows in case I forget it.
     
  19. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    2 people like this.
  20. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Sorry for the late reply. A rare occurrence. My ISP broke down (The biggest where I live, and a very rare happening)

    Now that you have been made aware, from my post and Sonny's follow-up, that you can boot directly to the desktop, with or without an MS or local account. With or without a password, would you still feel it not a better idea to log in with an MS account?

    "Why do I need to disconnect my computer from the Internet to install? Is there a danger that because they make you sign into Windows 8.1 with your Hotmail account, that someone can see everything I do on my computer and hack it? "

    In the installation, the program, in its final stages, checks your internet connectivity, and then asks you to log in with you live account. Disconnecting, before starting the installation, avoids you stalling at that stage.
    Unless you are neurotic, there is no reason to suspect that MS are spying on you, or that you will be hacked - that is, more than any other mail provider.
    Fwiw, I use Live Mail, but, as always, my ISP has control of my internet connection, including the input and output of my mail box. If I should choose to distrust any service, perhaps I should look in that direction, rather than at Microsoft?




    |
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...