New Problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by wilhelm1, Oct 3, 2014.

  1. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    You still there?
     
  2. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99

    ...............The system started saying something like I have 3 days to go active............

    That's it.
    Your friend did not activate the Win 7 Pro. Why ?
    The only reason is ............. your friend does not have a valid product key to activate.
    That is also why he did not give you the product key. He can't.
    When we say the copy is legit, we are actually saying the product key of the copy is valid.
    One can install an operating system into a computer, but, in order to activate it, one needs to have a legal product key of that operating system. Failing that, the computer will stop working after a "grace" period.
    Hence you received that message.
     
    Pauli likes this.
  3. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sounds logical. Though I was not aware you could down load a OS and put a key in later. I have always
    put the key in when I started up a new machine though I have only had maybe 3 machine.

    I think he just wanted me to be able to get on line and install the right OS . My wifi needed to be hooked up or I could not do a damn thing. When I picked it up we did not speak, as he was not there and his wife gave me the computer.
     
  4. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you are right, I might as well junk my machine and cancel the order.
     
  5. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    .............. I was not aware you could down load a OS and put a key in later..............

    Yes, one can do that.

    By the way, I am reaching the limit of my computer knowledge.
    I might have to step aside and let someone with better knowledge to take over.
    So, when that time comes, don't think I am getting tired of your questions. OK ?

    Right now, I have no idea how to help you re-installing Win 7 Home Premium.
    I gave you what you need but you can proceed. Don't understand why.
    Your Toshiba forum is less than helpful, to be sure.
     
  6. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Okay Dave thanks. Think I will cancel the order in the morning.
    As you have, I too have spent more than enough time on this problem.
     
  7. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Was just thinking you may be right, same as how I messed it up, he may have messed it up even more for me.
     
  8. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    Not totally familiar with the problem = this topic, there is a possibility that the OS is legitimate. Microsoft is the place to check, phone is easiest.

    OS discs don't necessarily come with holograms or such IDs, like mine are not, since they are directly downloaded and burnt. But mine are legal, came with 20 optional legitimate downloads, if I remember correctly.

    The thing is, an OS disc may be legal, but the product key is lost... you know how many papers I have lost? You could give it a shot. Anyways, best of all. :clover:
     
  9. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well, like I said I ordered the disks from Toshiba and while I am waiting for them to arrive, I also started the process of deleting
    my hard drive which is going to take approx. 2 hours and 7 minutes. Either the disks work or I will be junking the computer.
     
  10. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Okay a little update. After deleting my hard drive, I then downloaded X17 24208.ISO and everything was going on
    very nicely until it requested my product key. After entering it, it came back and said it was not correct, double checked
    for a typo and it was correct but, Win7 64 bit did not accept it. Will I have the same problem with the disks I purchased
    from Toshiba?
     
  11. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    I would say, most probably. Or inevitably.

    Unless you suddenly find a sticker attached to your computer, with your product key, the game is out. A knowing computer service might be able to help you, because they can find all the info about the computer hardware, and communicate with Microsoft. But still, most probably, you need to purchase a new OS.

    Not a nice thing to say but, willingly or unwillingly your friend seems to have fooled you.
     
  12. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Pauli, I downloaded from the internet the X17 24208.iso which I was told is the Win 7 64 bit Home Premium for my laptop. Then I turned my computer over and I input the product key that was on the computer when I bought it new. So when I tried to install the Apps that I had copied in the beginning, They were rejected as not compatible. I am doing nothing illegal, just trying to get it going. I have tried the things that people on here told me to try including the X17 iso. Guess I will have to wait until I get the discs from Toshiba.

    Since I have installed what turns out to be a junk X17 iso should I again delete my hard drive and start over when I get the disks??? I am a little bit confused I thought the OS is the Win 7 64 Bit, what is it I I will be getting from Toshiba on the disks?
     
    #52 wilhelm1, Oct 7, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  13. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Wilhelm,
    First of all.......
    X17 24208.iso is for 32-bit
    X17 24209.iso is for 64-bit.
    You had downloaded the wrong bit version.
    Read this link again :
    http://www.w7forums.com/threads/official-windows-7-sp1-iso-image-downloads.12325/

    Secondly.......
    What's wrong with the link I gave you ?
    http://www.mydigitallife.info/official-windows-7-sp1-iso-from-digital-river/
    The reason I gave you that link is because......
    The latest version of Windows 7 DVD image available is of media refresh version, which commonly known as Windows 7 SP1-U (Media Refresh). Microsoft released the media refresh version of Windows 7 DVD media to fix a rare bug related to invalid computer name when small set of computer names returned error when used to install Windows 7. Otherwise, the Windows 7 with SP1 and Windows 7 with SP1-U (Media Refresh) is completely the same.

    Windows 7 Home Premium SP1-U ISO
    English x86: X17-58996.iso .................x86 means 32-bit
    English x64: X17-58997.iso ................ x64 means 64-bit
     
  14. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    You are right Dave, I mistook the x86 to mean it was bigger and better than X64. Me Bad Sorry. See what
    you get when you try to "Lead a Jackass to Water"
     
  15. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Dave, don't think I don't appreciate all the help you have given me. I have learned a lot. Frustrating for me when
    I don't know squat.
     
  16. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Dave, I have a working Computer. I have been messing with it all day and finally I am in business. Thanks for all your
    help. .
     
    #56 wilhelm1, Oct 7, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  17. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99

    Very Good !
    Now, learn how to do System Image Backup.
    I do that regularly, about once a week. It saved my computer at least twice.

    System Image backup is very much like system restore. It does a mirror-image of the system at the time you run the image backup.
    When you have serious issues with the computer and unable o resolve, you can run the system image backup to restore to working condition.

    ***** you should buy an external hard drive for image backup. 500GB to 1TB capacity will do just fine.
    Using dvds is not recommended.
    Never do the image backup within the computer.*****

    Here is a tutorial :
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/663-backup-complete-computer-create-image-backup.html
     

Share This Page

Loading...