No Connectivity at ALL !

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Networking' started by rshappel, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. rshappel

    rshappel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good Day! I hope I can give enough info on this, so here goes...

    I have a Dell Inspiron 6000 that was running XP Pro. I upgraded to Vista Home Premium and all networking(wireless and wired) worked fine. I then went to my local coffee house and it worked fine there too via wireless. I then bring home the laptop and NO networking works, wired or wireless. I have tried all sorts of "tricks" I have read about in differnet posting, to no avail. Added registry items, changed public to private, removed reinstalled updated and even install a USB wireless adapter and it does not work.

    Here are my specs: Ethernet is Broadcom 440x 10/100, internal wireless is Intel Pro wireless 2200bg, external USB is Linksys WUSB54g.
    I have a Linksys WRT54G Router connect to a Linksys BEFCMU10 Cable Modem that goes to my ISP, Cox High Speed Cable.

    I have another laptop and two other desktops that are running XP Pro and have no issues connecting wired or wireless to this setup.
    I get the dreaded 169.254.xxx.xxx IP when I do ipconfig /all as Administrator. I've tries the /release and /renew with no results. I've tried Static IPs, tried attaching to my neighbors unsecured router, tried the "DhcpConnEnableBcastFlagToggle: reg hack with 1 and 0. All with no success.

    I'm grasping for any help or new idea. THANKS! Randal
     
  2. whisper

    whisper New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This kind of issue that happened to you is really weired. The connection should reset it's default values every time when start up/ reboot that is what I experienced with my ISP an ADSL wired connection, despite sometimes I lost connection but it lasts quickly or longest time was around 20 hours not more than. The only thing I need to do is restarting PC and Modem, voilà it works again so in short message this is a very strange case and I hope you will get help very soon. Happy Computing.
    Best Regards.
    whisper
     
  3. kjanx

    kjanx Guest

    do a factory reset on the router.

    small pin hole somewhere on the bottom or back.
    push and end of a paper clip in softly for 10 secs.
     
  4. prasun_patel

    prasun_patel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    These issue with no connectivity happens when there is some application or the drivers are corrupted... as the ip:- 169.254.... only appears at that time.......

    So do one thing do uninstall the drivers of the network adapters and the wireless card ...

    Then do a power cycle of the router and then try connecting with the networm the issue sould be reolsved....
     
  5. HarryRedd

    HarryRedd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am currently fighting essentially this exact same problem. I will post what I am able to figure out if^h^h when I get it fixed.

    I'm at the point that I have tried every solution posted on the Internet and I still get a "general failure" error when I do a loopback ping. This is true even if I set the ip address, gateway and dns. It will tell me that it is connected to the local network, but I cannot actually reach anything on the network.

    My problem is on a Gateway NX860XL laptop, just over a year old. It has worked flawlessly until yesterday morning. I am currently waiting to hear back from Gateway regarding this problem.
     
  6. HarryRedd

    HarryRedd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I got my problem resolved, but it required a full re-install of Vista to do it. That wouldn't be such a bid deal if it were easy to get my applications re-configured to the way I have tweaked them in a year of heavy use.

    It seems strange to me that even removing all the evidence of the drivers I could find didn't fix the problem. Oh well, I guess I'm back on-line and gradually getting the system set up again, so I've reached the light at the end of the tunnel.
     

Share This Page

Loading...