Pinnacle 3010ix Hybrid TV Tuner causing BSODs

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by babylonx, Sep 1, 2012.

  1. babylonx

    babylonx Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I installed Windows 8 x64 just yesterday and I must say I was amazed with its performance! It worked great with my old setup, an old Intel Core2Duo 2.13 GHz and 4 GB DDR2 memory. My previous OS was Windows XP but I decided to try Windows 8 since I had a free license as a student and my old Windows XP installation was getting slow and problematic.


    Everything seemed great. All my hardware was found and supported and I had no serious issues from Action Center. So today I decided to install a DVB-T Software (DVBViewer Pro) to use my tv Tuner.

    I own the Pinnacle 3010ix Dual Hybrid tv tuner which is great and I am not willing to discard it since it has great features and works great. It is recognized correctly in Device Manager as "Pinnacle PCTV 3010iX Dual Analog + DVB-T".

    I tried scanning for DVB-T channels and didn't find any. It was passing the frequencies with zero results, frequencies that I know it should find channels at. Then after scanning 6-7 frequencies I received the first BSOD with bug check string "NTFS_FILE_SYSTEM" and code 0x00000024. After that I tried again and after scanning for a while I received error with string "CACHE_MANAGER" and code 0x00000034. The third time I received error with string "KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED" and code 0x0000001e.

    So it seems that errors are random type but they only happen when I try to scan for channels.

    Until now I have tried changing the drivers with other 64bit versions I had (I was using the one that Windows installed till then), I tried installing and scanning channels with Pinnacle TVCenter (same problem with BSODs) and I also restored an old Windows XP image on some unpartitioned space on my disk and executed DVBViewer there and my tuner worked like a charm. So it is not a hardware issue.

    I think I tried this driver under Windows 7 x64 in the past and worked well. I also think that Windows 7 had also found and installed drivers for my tuner automatically that time and I didn't need to change them. Everything worked great. I am not expecting new drivers from Pinnacle for my card since it is very old (I think the 64bit drivers working under Windows 7 and 8 are the last ones made for Vista x64) and I am also not expecting to find any solution in here but I am posting this as a report because I couldn't find any other issues like mine on the web.

    I have also sent the reports after the crashes but I doubt Microsoft will find them any useful since they are random and unrelated.
     
  2. babylonx

    babylonx Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I found the Solution:
    After searching here an there I found that this card is based on NXP SAA7162 chipset. I tried many different drivers and they were all giving BSODs except for the following driver from Avermedia:
    http://www.avermedia.com/Support/DownloadCount.aspx?FDFId=3247

    I have installed it and works nice and smooth! Its great that I don't have to go back to Windows XP because of this!
    :)
     
  3. Adamsappleone

    Adamsappleone U.S.Navy D.A.V.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    122
    Hello babylonx, [​IMG] to Windows 8 Forums,

    That's great, I was just getting ready to submit some help, when your reply came up.
    Glad to hear you found a fix and thank you for posting it, for future reference.

    Regards
    Don
     
  4. Christian le Francais

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hello,
    Could you tell me how you did.
    I can not do it.
    Apart pollute my installation.
    thank you

    I have the same card and the same problem, the chains are not detected.
    Christian
     
  5. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    Did the Avermedia drivers work for you? If not, what error(s)did you receive?

    We lost power at 5pm EDT yesterday and don't know when it'll be back on (it's about 5 am now). I'll reply back as soon as I am able. I am sending this from my phone.
     
  6. Christian le Francais

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    When I scan chains, no is found.
    I just installed the drivers and it works BlackGold.
    I can not find all the channels but it works.

    http://home.btconnect.com/blackgold/Downloads/BGT3540_6.0.0.49_64bit.zip

    thank you I will keep you informed.

    Christian
     
  7. Christian le Francais

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is good, everything works I change taking tuner.
    I have all the channels.

    For those who have the same problem here is the procedure.
    In the device manager.

    1 Uninstall the drivers Pinnacle 3010ix by selecting delete drivers.
    2 Add legacy hardware.
    3 Choose audio controller
    4 Click supplied disc.
    5 Specify the path or find the drivers you uncompressed BGT3540_6.0.0.49_64bit drivers.
    6 Click OK and it's good.

    Christian
     
  8. ronaldo1

    ronaldo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi (sorry for my English),
    i have same problem but the solutions doesn't work for me, i have return to Windows 7 and wait an official solution :upset:

    ++
     
  9. Hinnik

    Hinnik Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do have the same problem, tried to install new software from:
    http://www.pctvsystems.com/tabid/62/default.aspx/Downloads/Application/TVC6Download/tabid/214/language/en-US/Default.aspx
    But still every time I want to start live TV on Windows media Centre I get a BSOD...
    I cannot open the website you mention here...
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,816
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi Hinnik,
    with BSOD's it's best to start your own thread. Read the thread found here and post the results in your own thread:
    http://windowsforum.com/threads/how-to-ask-for-help-with-a-bsod-problem.178480/
     
  11. Hinnik

    Hinnik Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you please let me know were I can find the correct driver for Pinnacle PCTV 3010i on this website? I cannot open this link...Thanks!
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,816
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  13. babylonx

    babylonx Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, I am writing this for future reference:
    The equivalent card is the Avermedia model A177. So in case someone can't find them on the link below google for it.

    The drivers right now are available here:
    http://avertv.avermedia.com/Product/ProductDetail.aspx?Id=20&tab=APDriver

    Of course the application is a whole different story and chances are that there might be remote control compatibility issues if you use their application. I am using DVBViewer and these drivers still work like a charm. I don't know if Media Center will work ok with them.

    After you install the driver package you will download there is a chance that the driver will not install automatically and that you might need to go in the device manager and update/install the driver manually. You should guide the driver installation inside AverMedia folder in Program Files and manually select the inf files in there. You might also receive a message that your device and drivers might be incompatible and that is ok since the Pinnacle card has different vendor and device id's than the avermedia one. Just click ok.
     
    #13 babylonx, Apr 9, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2014
    Hinnik likes this.
  14. Hinnik

    Hinnik Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    HThanks babylonx, just installed this drivers I hope it is the solution I was looking for!
     

Share This Page

Loading...