Problem with Administrative Privledges

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by mikesir87, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. mikesir87

    mikesir87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok...this may be a tricky one...I've been searching around on quite a few forums, and nothing yet.

    So, the other day, I booted into Windows 7 (I'm dual-booted with XP), and I no longer have an admin privledges on my only account. I've tried using the net user administrator commands, but I keep getting that access is denied. If I try to do anything on my computer, I get the UAC window that requires me to enter a password. (There's no input box there, but I'm not sure if that matters or not???). Well, since I have no other account, and the only password that I do have doesn't work, I'm basically stuck. Has anyone else had this problem? I have no idea how to do anything since I no longer can do anything as an administrator. I guess I might have to just reinstall 7, but I would like to avoid that if possible. So...any ideas would be great!

    Thanks!
     
  2. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Try booting into safe mode where there should be an administrator account as well as yours. Try logging into it and fixing the problem from there.
     
  3. mikesir87

    mikesir87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok...so when I boot into safe mode, what should I do from there? Just ensure I'm on the admin level? Sorry if that seems like a dumb question... But, thanks for the help! And, thanks for the quick reply!
     
  4. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Well log into the administrator account and then you will have admin privileges as long as you are logged in and you should be able to make changes that you mentioned in the first post.
     
  5. mikesir87

    mikesir87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok...I got it fixed. Just to let everyone else that may have this problem, I wanted to get my account back as an administrator. I'm sure there are a few ways to do this, but here's how I did. I booted into safe mode, opened a command prompt, and entered this command: control userpasswords2. Once in there, I selected the user I wanted to adjust, hit Configure, and then put me into the Adminstrators group. Now, it's working fine.

    Thanks!
     
  6. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Glad to here you got it fixed.
     
  7. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    You also could've;

    Opened an administrative command prompt (Right click; Run as Administator)
    Typed 'net user administrator activate:yes' and hit Enter.
     

Share This Page

Loading...