PROTIP: Do not install disc image mounting tools

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by haxxormaster, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. haxxormaster

    haxxormaster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It eff's up Win7; sometimes it enters this state in which you are not able to open any apps, yet those already running work fine, you can't access your other drives, and you cannot log off, restart or shut down your computer without having to push and hold the power button.

    I noticed it's happened to others in the x64 version who've installed Daemon tools, Magic Disc, and - in my case - Virtual Clone Drive.


    In fact I'm about to reinstall Win7 to fix this problem, as system restore might not work and I don't want to waste my time trying it.
     
    #1 haxxormaster, Jan 16, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  2. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    virtual clone drive appears to be working fine for me atm :cool:
     
  3. Joachim B

    Joachim B New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using PowerISO 4.3. (on both Win 7 64bit and 32bit.) No problems at all.
     
  4. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    haxxormaster i have to disagree on the basis that Virtual Clone Drive has been working perfectly for me and countless other people so far. Most other Virtual Disc Drives have been a problem in windows 7 thus far. You just came to a conclusion that no one should ever use them and that is wrong.
     
  5. Ermac

    Ermac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any problem if I install it from a usb drive (pendrive)? My DVD drive is broken, so I mounted the ISO, copyed everything to my 8GB pendrive, booted from the pendrive and installed without problem.
     
    #5 Ermac, Jan 16, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  6. Kylethedarkn

    Kylethedarkn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    18
    Its MagicISO/MagicDisc. Same thing happened to me. Now I gotta reinstall. :\
     
  7. SevenDeuce

    SevenDeuce New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am using Gizmo, works like a champ on W7 64bit 7000
    I even like it better than Alcohol 120%
     
  8. jbaranski

    jbaranski New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    system restore will work

    I booted my computer in safe mode and restored it that way. Works perfectly now.
     
  9. getmanan

    getmanan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    im using power iso in win 7 x86.no probs at all.
     
    #9 getmanan, Jan 17, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
  10. RMT

    RMT New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep ive tried deamontools(lite/pro) at first, but it looped on install/reboot ,
    not fixed neither by doing install stdp manually/seperated before ^^.
    after that ive tried another small 266Kb virtual driver/mount (works) but its commandline based , i prefer gui.
    and so i installed power iso 4.2 and it works good (so till deamontools=fixed ill use PowerIso):cool:
    (oh an vew version 4.3( ill check changelog if i need it :p ))
    i havent tested nero;s image drive yet. ? has anyone ? :confused:
    but yep mate a mine also got fracked up when installing MagicIso, bad bad software, and he2 had to reinstall/repair the OS
     

Share This Page

Loading...