Re-set Passsword on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by dvoigt, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. dvoigt

    dvoigt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    We just went through some trials and tribulations getting my new Windows 7 computer to fully network with several XP computers on the same homegroup. In the process, we installed an "Administrator Password" on my user account. I know the password as I am able to turn the machine off and log back on without a problem. However, when I tried to change the password, it now says "Windows Cannot Change The Password". Did we some how put a security check somewhere where I, the Administrator, who knows his password and can log into the system, is no longer allowed to change it? Help. :frown:
     
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Control Panel > User Accounts :

    1. Must have admin privileges
    2. Must type in your OLD password and then your NEW one + confirm the new password by typing it again

    or

    3. Standard > Elevated Command Prompt > control userpasswords2

    or

    4. Ctrl Alt Del > Change Password.
     
  3. dvoigt

    dvoigt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks -- I am the only user on the computer and do have administrative privileges. I tried all three methods you suggested and each time I get the same "access denied" error message. There has to be some sore of authorization block now in the system that wasn't there before. I was surprised too that the ADMINISTRATOR could be blocked from such a thing.
     
  4. dvoigt

    dvoigt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. I was able to find, using the control userpasswords2 process, that my particular user name that had administrative privileges had a box checked that did not permit this user to change passwords. Once I unchecked that box I was able to change everything as advertised.
    Now however, when the computer logs on, two users appear -- Administator and Me. How do I eliminate the initial log on screen from having two or so names appear so I have to choose before the operating system starts? Namely; how do I set it for one user to automatically log in?
     
  5. dvoigt

    dvoigt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK - I got the "automatic" sign in set. Whew.
     
  6. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Thank you for your feedback. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...