Renaming Hard Drives

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by wraithmajere, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. wraithmajere

    wraithmajere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having a really difficult time "renaming" or "labeling" hard disk drives (ide) and (sata) and (usb)

    When I right click the drive and choose rename, it does nothing after I type the new name in, I also have tried to go into Disk Management to label them, same efffect, does nothing. (also tried on a fresh install)

    -- MB Drivers are "not" loaded but there are no drivers for Nforce 4 Sli for Windows 7 64bit yet... but the pre-installed W7 Drivers appear to be working fine.... (tried to load the Vista 64 Nforce 4 Sli Drivers, -- these will crash Windows 7, in both normal mode and safe mode (blue screens) -- if you load these, choose "last known good configuration" and you'll be okay again.

    **Can anyone let me know if there is a quick way to rename a drive in the registry or has a tip to get the Hard Drive Labels Changed?

    Im trying to label them as such:

    System-C
    Games-D
    Storage-E
    Storage-F
    Storage-G

    etc.... etc..
    ----------------------------------

    W7 64bit (activated) Fully Updated
    AMD 64x2 3800+ 2g DDR400 PC3200
    2x34g Raptors RAID-0 128k Stripe
    Gigabyte K8N-PRO SLI Nforce 4 SLI MB
    2x9800gtx BFG Tech Nvidia Cards SLI
    TV Wonder 650 Pro PCI-E
    X-Fi XtremeMusic

    (So far all hardware appears to be working fine in W7 64bit)
     
  2. BlackWolf

    BlackWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    9
    is it possible that you have UAC disabled? if so, enable it. because when I try to rename a drive it tells me I need admin rights and then gives me a UAC-window that allows me to give explorer.exe administrative rights.

    so if UAC is disabled try enabling it.

    regards

    edit: there is no way labeling hard drives by editing the registry, because the drives name is saved on the drive itself.
     
    #2 BlackWolf, Jan 19, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
  3. wraithmajere

    wraithmajere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your quick reply, I will try this when I get home, I think you're correct and that UAC does have to be re-enabled... I did have it disabled.

    Thanks!
     
  4. HP Deskjet

    HP Deskjet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've renamed most of mine, apart from the C-drive and my L-drive [a USB flash stick]. I simply used Disk Management and it all worked fine. I had no UAC issues going on, mine are still set to their default settings. I did have to wait a few minutes before my external HDD changed but it was just a case of waiting and letting the system do its thing.

    You'll know this path already but for others it may be of use.

    Start>Computer>Right click on computer & select 'Manage'>Computer Management screen opens>select Disc Management>select & right click on the drive>select Change Drive Letter & Paths
     
  5. wraithmajere

    wraithmajere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Renaming HDs

    Re-Enabling UAC, did the trick for the SATA/IDE Drives... however my external usb HD still will not allow me to rename it... tried in safemode as well... no luck

    however, in safemode:

    the drives even though they are renamed in normal mode... display as:

    C:\
    D:\
    E:\
    F:\
    G:\

    and not the names that display in normal mode...

    any help w/ renaming a usb drive?
     
  6. BlackWolf

    BlackWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    9
    don't know about safemode, guess it's simply not reading the drive name from the drive in safe mode.

    can't really test usb drives since I don't have any, but normally that SHOULD work just like any built-in drive. did you test more than one different usb drive?
     
  7. wraithmajere

    wraithmajere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, unfortunatly just have 1 USB HD, I have a feeling though its my lack of nforce 4 amd sli MB drivers...
     
  8. bleach54758

    bleach54758 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    "start" “search programs and files ” " services.msc " "ShellHWDetection"
    then you can rename the hard drivers .
     
  9. bleach54758

    bleach54758 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    "start" “search programs and files â€Â￾ " services.msc " "ShellHWDetection"
    then you can rename the hard drivers .
    [​IMG]
     
  10. rrussell2244

    rrussell2244 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...