Server Migration Tool

Discussion in 'Windows Server Forums' started by grego86, Jan 24, 2017.

  1. grego86

    grego86 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm stuck working on a lab assignment. I'm trying to install ServerMigrationToon on a 2008R2 machine. I've done all the procedures on my 2012 machine. On the 2008R2 I open cmd prompt with admin, type net use Z:\\Servera\wsmt\SMT_ws08R2_amd64 (enter) I then change to Z: directory and here is where I get stuck. I cannot get it to run SmigDeploy.exe. Can someone enlighten me on my mistake.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    489
  3. grego86

    grego86 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I followed the steps from Microsofts Official Academic lab manual. I think where I'm messing up is I need to copy the folder from my 2012 to my 2008R2 through cmd prompt then run SmigDeploy. I have to use cmd prompt bc I have to provide a screenshot and the professor wants to see that we used cmd prompt and not powershell.
     
  4. grego86

    grego86 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was my problem. I used robocopy and moved folder from 2012 to my 2008R2 and then can run SmigDeploy
     
  5. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    489
    xcopy will work too over a network path
     
  6. grego86

    grego86 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well now is saying it can't run on my operating system (2008R2) that it can only run on 2012R2, 2012, 2008R2, 2008 and 2003 operating systems. Lol what the hell? I'm running what it needs.
     
  7. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    489
    Is it the correct architecture?
     
  8. grego86

    grego86 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup 64 to 64.
     
  9. grego86

    grego86 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have redone the process and still getting the error messages. Starting to tick me off only advice my professor had was to start over he didn't have a clue.
     
  10. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    356
    actived?
     

Share This Page

Loading...