Windows 7 Several issues with internet

nightnoctun

Okay, so I'm new to this forum.

Anyway, I'm having several problems with my internet. This all started happening when I got Windows 7 installed. Whenever I try to download anything with any browser, it stops randomly and fails, or finishes only part of it. For example on Firefox, it says the "source file could not be read, etc". Also, I noticed when watching Youtube videos, it will show the bar full, as if it was fully loaded but instead it stops at a part, like it hasn't loaded all the way. Finally, during games I will randomly disconnect which is annoying. If anyone can give me a straight answer or help, I will greatly appreciate it.

I'm not very good at understanding things about networks, routers, etc so if you can simplify it as much as possible for me to understand, thanks!

Hi and welcome to the forum... Cool nic by the way!

Are you running any security apps at all? If not, try MSE or Microsoft Security Essentials as it aced the tests and is totally free.

Link Removed due to 404 Error

I just wonder if you've picked up something nasty like a bug of some sort?

Last edited:
First be sure "Flow Control" is enabled in your network adaptors.

Next hit the WinKey + R (run) and type in "regedit"
Path through regedit to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\LanmanServer\Parameters

In the right panel you will find a parameter named "Size"
If it's not there create it as a DWORD.

Set it's value to 3.

No promises... but this solved most of it for me.

Also make sure you have the latest version of Adobe Flash installed. Anything running on flash is inherrently unreliable, YouTube and others mess up on me all the time and I've never found a solution for it.

Okay so I was able to download a 286MB file without any issues. I don't know why that happened. As for my internet, it will still disconnect on me.