Side by Side Configuration, HELP!!!!!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by ElegantBlunt, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. ElegantBlunt

    ElegantBlunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, im new to this whole forum thing & im no computer whiz so please try to write instructions in layman's terms :nerdie:
    ---- I play a game called IMVU, today when i tried to open it up in got the error message that the side-by-side config. was incorrect. I have no idea was a sxstrace.exe tool is, but i did check the Event Log. Here is a snapshot of the information i received . . . . http://i1212.photobucket.com/albums/cc448/ElegantBlunt/Capture-1.png. If you need more information please let me know. I appreciate your help!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ElegantBlunt

    ElegantBlunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Come on now i have 45 views & no replies. Help someone !
     
  3. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I think a possible reason for the lack of response is that the error appears to be specific to the game, and not a windows error. Windows 7 is merely reporting it. I am not familiar with the game, but from the error produced it seem like a corrupted file in the user section. I would say that a reinstall of the game would sort it.
     
    #3 davehc, Jul 5, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2011
  4. ElegantBlunt

    ElegantBlunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried re-installing the game several times . . . still the same error ):
     
  5. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Just had a browse. Try and disable your antivirus (particularly if it is AVG) and restart and try again.
     
  6. ElegantBlunt

    ElegantBlunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Looks like good advice. They also suggest the Antivirus problem. Have you tried disabling MSE temporarily, to see if that is enough? Otherwise, if you have it, go for the C uninstall suggestion.
     
  8. ElegantBlunt

    ElegantBlunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried everything you said, but in the end adding more C++ Redistributales fixed the problem! Thanx for all your help!!
     
  9. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    im glad you managed to get it sorted.

    We hope you stay on the forums and continue to use the site

    Thank you :)
     
  10. Gls

    Gls New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had same problem with Nero 9 after I had to do a restore. I reinstalled Windows Visual c++ 2005,2008,and 2010 then Windows updated them. Nero 9 works fine now. Hope this helps?
     

Share This Page

Loading...