Start Menu Search Gone?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by pbel, Mar 24, 2009.

  1. pbel

    pbel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, after i did some tweaking on windows 7(first time ever) i somehow disabled the start search on the start menu. Now when i open the start menu i cant search which is bad. Paese help
     
  2. Camride

    Camride New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    12
    Right click on the task bar and select properties, click on the start menu tab and then click on customize. At the bottom you'll see a button that says default settings, click that and it'll set everything in the start menu back to default.

    Let me know if that doesn't work.
     
  3. Tommyyyyy

    Tommyyyyy New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, it does not work :/
     
  4. a mystery

    a mystery New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to Control Panel\Programs and Features\Turn Windows features on or off, and enable Indexing service and Windows search
    I managed to tweak it off too and it had me worried for a while ;)

    edit: yeah, better late than never.. :)
     
  5. LadyCordy

    LadyCordy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not true

    Your "late" posting helped a random soul searching through the Google aether. Thanks!
     
  6. goinnow

    goinnow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    helped one more
    thank you
     
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Did you do it in the registry or through some tweaking program?
     
  8. Robinsond76

    Robinsond76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks A Mystery, that helped me too. Created account simply to say Thanks.
     
  9. sakr232000

    sakr232000 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmmm, unfortunately, i created the account here just to say "THAT DIDN'T WORK FOR ME", even after i disabled those features n re-enabling them again, but didnt work,.....

    I hope there is any other way to go around this problem
    Thanks for all efforts though
     
  10. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Hi sakr232000 and Welcome to The Forum.

    Did you re-boot in between the removal / adding?
     

Share This Page

Loading...