Taskbar isn't working right?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Taiki, May 14, 2009.

  1. Taiki

    Taiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed Windows 7 yesterday, but I can't seem to get the taskbar to work the way i want. Even though the Small Icons option isn't checked, the small icons still appear. And minimized windows don't show up in the taskbar either, I have to alt+tab to get to them. I've tried updating through Windows update, and I'e updated my drivers for Windows 7.

    If it helps, my graphics card is the ATI Radeon 3200. Anyone know a fix?
     
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Can you post a pic of your taskbar? Have you tried using the never combine option, maybe thats what your after?
     
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    You're probably used to the old Quick Launch bar, but that is not available natively.

    If you'd like it back, either I or loath can show you how.

    For example if you have two Windows Explorer open and you close out both the icons will disappear.

    If you need instructions, just post back.
     
  4. Taiki

    Taiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I want the new taskbar stuff like the grouping and icons, but they don't show. Screeny here showing the options I want and that windows are up but not showing:
    ImageShack - Image Hosting :: desktopf.png
     
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Instead of Firefox, can you give us a shot of your desktop instead?
     
  6. Taiki

    Taiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Strange. My taskbar looks alot different to yours

    [​IMG]

    Yours reminds me of earlier builds and Vistas taskbar. Did you download the RC from Microsoft or was it a torrent?
    Also did you do a clean install or an upgrade?
     
  8. Taiki

    Taiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was from Microsoft, and it was an upgrade. Is that why?
     
  9. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    I know its a pain, but you are always better off doing a clean install when installing a new OS, especially if it is a beta product.

    Your taskbar doesnt look right to me, and if you are in the postion to do a clean install, you might find it fixes this problem.

    I remember on one of the builds they made the show desktop button on the far right smaller, if you compare the two of ours, yours is a lot bigger. Also I cant remember if they changed the start button somewhere along the line, but yours is the same as Vistas.
     
    #9 loathe, May 14, 2009
    Last edited: May 14, 2009
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    definitely agree,

    the "clean" install route is the only way to go.
     
  11. carol_s

    carol_s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    26
    Looks similar to mine, except I get the icons showing for programs which are running. The ones on the right are a few I have pinned to the taskbar for quick launch.
     

Share This Page

Loading...