Unable to find the file in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by madhu4125, Dec 14, 2009.

  1. madhu4125

    madhu4125 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!
    I Imported my video from my cam coder using a program called TV Expert which comes with my TV tuner card.
    I am able to play back the video from the program , but unable to find the file out side the program , remember the file size is 3.7GB (Can't miss). When I open the file from the program the location of the file is c:\program files\TV expert\movies.
    But when i open a windows explorer and go to that location i am unable to find the file. The icon of the file has pad lock , dose any one has any clue/
    View attachment 3810

    View attachment 3811

    View attachment 3812

    I have attached the screen shots , help , help , help
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Try thia free download and use ut;s powerDesk search engie DO NOY check any boxes during instal

    Powerdesk 6 Free Download

    Use the Fule Finder feature
     
  3. jeremyakawise

    jeremyakawise New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The default setting for UAC does not permit writing to the tree under "Program Files". Instead Win7 creates a shadow folder under the current user where new/modified files are saved. For example when your app says it is saving to C:\Program Files\ it is actually saving to C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\ . Vista is the same in this respect. if you navigate to C:\Program Files\TV expert\movies and click Compatibility Files Explorer will display this shadow folder contents and my guess is that you will find your missing file there.

    You can get rid of this shadow behavior by turning UAC off. That is what I have done as I have found it to be a royal pain even more so than it was under Vista.

    Hope this helps....
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I have to disageee with you on that statement. Before I have turned UAC off, I was able to install to the Program Files directory.
     
  5. jeremyakawise

    jeremyakawise New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe with UAC on you can install to Program Files but if you try to create a text file under Program Files you will find that you cannot. Furthermore if you create a Word document and try to save it to c:\program Files, an error is generated at least that is how my system works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...