Unable to pin chrome "apps" to start menu

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by jonklaus, Jun 1, 2016.

  1. jonklaus

    jonklaus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a Chrome user, and want to pin website "apps" to the start menu in Win10. According to several websites, this should be possible, and should generate a little unique icon. See, for instance, here: Use Chrome to Create a Windows 10 App from Any Website. They claim to have created a start screen that looks like this using the Chrome "pin to taskbar" feature:
    upload_2016-6-1_11-32-54.

    When I try to do this, I get a generic website icon, instead of the pretty Chrome-generated icons. Here are the steps I'm taking (following the instructions given on the website above):

    1) Navigate to the website in question using Chrome.
    2) Click the "hamburger" icon.
    3) Click "more tools"
    4) Click "add to desktop." Make sure that "open as window" is checked. (N.B. The instructions on this website say to click "add to taskbar, but I don't have that option, despite the fact that I'm running the latest Chrome.)
    So far, so good. I get a nice desktop icon like this (which also shows up on the taskbar):
    upload_2016-6-1_11-36-31.
    5) Right click on the desktop icon and click "pin to start." This is where things go awry. I get this on the start menu:
    upload_2016-6-1_11-37-36.


    Help!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,055
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    I just tried that and the same thing happens to me.
    No matter what, I start with I get the Chrome icon in the start menu.

    I'm guessing that's because Windows sees this as opening Chrome not as opening the web page.

    I don't get the option to pin to the task bar either.

    Mike
     
  3. Sandbox

    Sandbox Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    15
    i was posting the answer but it was allready posted i cant delete the post so i say hi all
     
  4. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Do it manually. Once you have got a desktop shortcut, open File explorer and copy the desktop icon to
    C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu
     
  5. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    Yeah this doesn't work. The Start Menu sees chrome as the executable so it will have the chrome icon.
     
  6. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Works for me!

    Untitled.
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    I created a GURU 3D shortcut then dragged and dropped it to the same place David
    icon.
     
  8. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Problem solved! (Maybe partly?)

    I have to add. though. If it comes to shortcuts to web pages, I prefer to stick them in the bookmarks.
     
    #8 davehc, Jun 2, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2016
    holdum333 likes this.
  9. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    They show up in the program menu just fine, but when you right click it and "Pin to Start" it will not display the correct icon.
     
  10. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    As you could see, both the one from Kemical, and mine, are pinned to start. - Not sure what you mean by "program menu"?
     
  11. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    See below, right click the icon added to the program menu and select "Pin to start" and you will see. Capture.PNG
     
    holdum333 likes this.
  12. Sandbox

    Sandbox Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    15
    he mean's the all apps menu
     

Share This Page

Loading...