Very slow network/internet?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by jasonw, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. jasonw

    jasonw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so I got my new internet installed yesterday. Its 13mbps cable with a static IP. The problem is I have 4 computers "2 laptops, desktop and server" running through a WRT56gs router. All machines run great but the Vista premium desktop dose not. If I goto a web page it takes forever "looking for site" once the site is found the modem revs up and everything is good. I disabled IPV6 as per my ISP but this did not resolve the problem. Any suggestions?
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Could be any number of things. I would start with IE 8 and disable all add ons one by one to make sure one of those is not the culprit. Then check windows updates and make sure you have all the latest updates important and recommend and optional if you want. I accept all. Then reboot and check for issue. If it still persists the next step is to check for bugs, run all your malware, spyware, adware software you have along with a virus scan. Then defrag hard drive and registry and reboot and then check if you still have your issue. If your still have an issue try resetting IE 8, you can find that in tools, internet options, advanced and reset tab at bottom. let us know what you find out.
     
  3. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    Vista Latency

    Disable Windows Vista TCP/IP Auto Tunning.
     
  4. jasonw

    jasonw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    bassfisher6522. I don't use IE, I use Firefox but I disabled all the add ons. I have done everything ells but the problem remains.

    Celestra. How would I go about doing this?
     
  5. jasonw

    jasonw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I figured it out and disabled it but the problem remains.
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi Jasonw, good to see you again...:)

    Have you checked the machine for malware/virus's?
     
  7. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
  8. jasonw

    jasonw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    It appears every time I restart autotuning resets itself. I did everything It said to do. Here is a screen shot.
     
  9. jasonw

    jasonw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to be back again. Honestly though I hate to be here because it means I have a problem I can not fix LOL:) Anyway AVG, Adaware, Windows Defender and my HP health adviser all report no problems.
     
  10. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Use these also in conjunction with what you have as well. They can be found at cnet.com/downloads and they are free. Some will find stuff that another program might miss.

    Malwarebytes Anti Malware
    Spybot search and destroy
    Ccleaner
    Advance System Care 3 (all in one utilities program)
     
  11. jasonw

    jasonw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ccleaner and SSD realy did a job on my performance. I don't remember exactly what they did but it was bad enough for me to remove them. I will look into those others
     
  12. jasonw

    jasonw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so for just chits and giggles I just got done running CC and SSD. For GP I went ahead and ran them on the server as well. Everything checks out ok.
     
  13. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
  14. jasonw

    jasonw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dose it matter that I don't use IE? I tested to see if it hangs up to and it dose but I never use it.
     
  15. jasonw

    jasonw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    All anti virus, spy ware, firewall and all other security off and the problem remains. I am so so lost. I wish this computer came with a "restore to defaults" like all my other computers.
     
  16. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    Up To Date

    Sometimes a slightly bad router can cause problems, is everything up to date? (Drivers and Firmware)

    You might even try a different router if that does nothing....
     
  17. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Thats true Celestra.. I updated the firmware on my router the other day perhaps doing the same (check for new firmware) my help?
     
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  19. jasonw

    jasonw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so I took the router back. Because wireless is important to me in my office I exchanged it for a wireless N router. Got it all set up and the problem remained. Then I said screw it, found out how to rest the computer to the factory settings and all problems are fixed now. My windows update is lagging but that's all.
     
  20. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    That was going to be my last suggestion, reformat by doing a system recovery. It's a last ditch effort but it will most certainly fix the problem. The only down side to this fix is that you want every find out the cause/solution of the problem. Then again we may never know. I have had to do the same thing that you just did, I think we all have at some point. Best of luck to you and do hit us back with any more issues that might occur, of course, keeping our fingers crossed that nothing else does occur.
     

Share This Page

Loading...