What is Going on?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by wilhelm1, Apr 23, 2016.

  1. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    It doesn't happen very much. When I go to the top of the screen and the pointer touches on one of my favorites, the favorite disappears. if I scan across the favorites with the mouse pointer every one of them disappears. I usually restart the computer and everything comes back to normal. What is happening? The Laptop mouse input is disabled and I am using a remote mouse.
     
  2. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    #2 holdum333, Apr 23, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2016
  3. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did it and I forgot to mention that I have been getting an Adobe Flash Player ActiveX msg that I need to upgrade. I think what is happening Microsoft is doing everything possible to force you to upgrade to Win 10. I can't stand Win 10. Another msg said my ActiveX is outdated.
     
  4. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    Hi wilheml ! A lot of people don't like W10. I'm really liking it myself. I don't know why MS is trying so hard to get users to upgrade!
    You issue is really weird. Sense no one was replying, I thought I'd give it a shot. I'm like @kemical; I hate to see threads not get answered.
    I think some times I'm to aggressive about replying, but I do get it right some times. Not understanding "Idid it" in your reply.
    Maybe you will get better replies latter. I'm a FireFox user. Seldom use IE. Do you have the latest version of IE and all the up dates??
    Very important to keep Adobe up dated also. They are a magnet for malware and you need to keep it up dated. I'm sure you are aware of that.;):)
     
  5. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did the reset on IE. I am running IE 11 with all upgrades. You know every time I try to do something, IE takes me to a Win 10 page and I hate
    to do anything they have to offer, instead of a Win 7 page, part of their prompting me to change I think. Like I say it is weird and it may happen
    every couple of weeks so I just reboot and all is well. Guess it is one of the spooks of computers.

    Okay why do I get the line feed that shows up like it is above. It happens a lot and I have to fix it.
    I was not aware that they were magnets.
     
    #5 wilhelm1, Apr 23, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2016
  6. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    Hi friend! I don't know what you mean. "line feed"
    Capture48.JPG
     
  7. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Instead of my message being 3 lines, it is 5 lines with 2 of the lines only having a word on each line. Are you seeing 3 lines or 5 lines?
     
  8. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    Hi I see what you see in my screen shot. You can add remove by right clicking in a blank spot. I hope I'm understanding your replies.
    Capture48.JPG
     
  9. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    I can get the same as your screen shot. What I am talking about go to my post above and see the wording where "Hate" and "Happen"
    are, why did the line not fill in instead of doing a line feed.
    ExampleXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Hate
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Happen
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Wish I could screen shot and outline things on a computer may have to get Grand Son to give me some help doing things I don't know how to do.
     
  10. wilhelm1

    wilhelm1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    6
    I just thought of something maybe it is because I don't fill up a line completely and it does that as a default.
     
  11. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    Sorry friend! I have no idea why that happened! Maybe other members will reply latter!
     
  12. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
  13. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    366
    Malware could be a possible causes of the strange behavior or Windows corruption.
    Open an elevated command prompt and run SFC /SCANNOW
     
  14. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    Thanks for helping fiend!:up:May I add that if you get errors, you might need to run sfc /scannow 3 times to fix all the violations or what ever.:rofl:
    Malware could cause strange behavior also.
    Thanks @Neemobeer Your knowledge blows my mind!
    I wish I were young again and could learn these things.;):(
     
  15. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    Oops almost forgot! Run the sfc /scannow with Admin privileges!:rofl:
     

Share This Page

Loading...