What is the largest usable Raid 0 boot size?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jabberwoccky70, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. jabberwoccky70

    jabberwoccky70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this is probly a question asked before, but I have two 1.5tb drives I would like to set up in RAID 0. What is the largest size RAID 0 Windows 7 Home Premuim will support for a boot?
     
  2. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
  3. jabberwoccky70

    jabberwoccky70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to clarify, I can use the 2 x 1.5tb as a 3tb boot drive? Sorry to be redundant, but Im about to spend money on either a external storage harddrive, or two new harddrive to use in a Raid, so I have to be sure.
     
  4. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    You can run it as a regular drive. As a boot drive, I can check if there is a 2TB limit for booting but I need to know the model and make of your motherboard.
     
    #4 zvit, Mar 28, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
  5. jabberwoccky70

    jabberwoccky70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you, Zvit. Im going to just get the external drive, and then put my other two in a Raid 0
     
  6. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    Read my previous post. I edited it.
     
  7. jabberwoccky70

    jabberwoccky70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running an Asus Crosshair IV formula, AMD 965 BE, 2x 1.5 segate sata 3.0gps, 2x 5870 ati, 1000w kingwin psu, creative fatality sound. watercooled

    pics Pictures by jabberwoccky70 - Photobucket

    Ps..yes I know i made a mistake with these drives...shoulda got sata 6.0, but maybe the Raid 0 will help
     
  8. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
  9. jabberwoccky70

    jabberwoccky70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    *sigh* Well, thank you so much for the info. Maybe this will help others as well. I can generally find out info like this pretty fast, but I could not find this answer ANYWHERE. Thanks again.
     
  10. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    With pleasure.
     

Share This Page

Loading...