What's wrong with my 64-bit OS ?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by davidhk129, Apr 21, 2014.

  1. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Win 7 Home Premium SP1 IE11 64-bit

    I tried to do a install and I got an error message. I have no idea why a 64-bit os will not have a 64-bit processor.
    Resorting to recovery or installation media is out of the question, because the laptop is running perfectly............except this one incident.

    Error message is at the top half of the screenshot.
    System spec is at the bottom half.

    Image 1.
     
  2. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    125
    You're trying to do a fresh install 7 64-bit on top of 7 64-bit?
     
  3. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
  4. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    125
    Look on your BIOS and enable VT or Virtualize setting then try again.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using WindowsForum mobile app
     
  5. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I recommend checking the BIOS also. Sp1 in Windows 7 set virtualization to off on mine and it was enabled before SP1.
    Joe
     
  6. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    125
    Also you may want to go to Windows Components and install Hyper-V and all of its sub-components.
     

Share This Page

Loading...