When renaming, Error: "Folder In Use" even when it is not

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by enbeng, Mar 24, 2015.

  1. enbeng

    enbeng New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    As the title suggests, I often receive the following error message when renaming folders:

    "Folder In Use. The action can't be completed because the folder is open in Adobe Acrobat"

    However that is not the case. I even restart my computer to make sure nothing is accidentally left open in the background. I have even tried renaming folders with just a single, simple PDF inside that has never even been opened. I just have the standard, free Adobe Reader installed and I have never messed with any of the default settings.

    I can get around it by closing everything related to it in the task manager, then waiting a while and renaming. But for my job I deal a LOT with PDFs, am often managing loads of files and folders, making and reading PDF reports, etc. It is a huge time loss to continuously have to work around this issue.

    Is there any way I can force windows to move/rename folders regardless of when the files are in use? I am careful enough not to do so when I actually have a working file open (at least open in the forefront where the average user can see it).

    Thank-you very much for your help,
    Jack
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    There is no way you can erase a file which is currently flagged as "in use". I suggest you use autoruns (free download from here: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb963902.aspx and use it to identify and suspend whatever startup item is causing the folder to be in use. Provided that it not some essential activity or process then you can remove the offending item from startup.
     
    enbeng likes this.
  3. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Or simply reboot and try it again....that error message pops up when that file is in use by the OS.....whether you started it or not.

    I found that out with skype, which had files opened or in use and couldn't shut it down what ever I was doing with that file. I had to track it back to its source...which ended up being skype and all I had to do was close skype then I could take what ever action I wanted to with said file in question.
     
    enbeng likes this.
  4. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    315
    The left and right preview panes are common causes of this issue… the two example screen shots show folders "in use" by myself because I have them previewed.
    Screenshot (138).
    Screenshot (139).

    You can set windows 8 or 8.1.1 to ignore these when deleting but the default setting is to block deletion in this situation.
     
    enbeng likes this.
  5. jcgriff2

    jcgriff2 Honorable Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    29
    enbeng likes this.
  6. enbeng

    enbeng New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank-you very much to everyone, that was very helpful information.
     
  7. pi314

    pi314 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Unlocker will achieve this also. http://www.emptyloop.com/unlocker/
     

Share This Page

Loading...