White Screen

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by Oren Magoon, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. Oren Magoon

    Oren Magoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whenever I start IE, FF or anything from my CD drive. I get a blank white screen. In order to get out of this. I hit the Windows key on the keyboard and then right click and select desktop. Is this normal or is something causing the problem.

    Windows 7 Home Premium
    6.1.7600 Build 7600
    64 bit
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,810
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi Oren,
    could you supply a little more information such system spec, type of security used, any recent updates either hardware or software and finally just check in C:\Windows\Minidump to see if there are indeed any dump files. If you do find any please zip and post.
     
  3. Oren Magoon

    Oren Magoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I"m using Norton for security (Came with computer). My graphics card is ATI Radeon HD 5450 It's a brand new computer. I've only added a few programs. I opened the start up and recovery file. It does show a small memory dump. But, the path you sent me to extract that file doesn't work.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,810
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  5. Oren Magoon

    Oren Magoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded the microsoft essentials. When I get the white screen it saids on the tool bar Computer Protected mode off. When I click on the properties of the white screen. It's path leads to a program attached to my email program. Incredible Email.
     
  6. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    The path is correct, but what you have to do is copy the file(s) to say, your desktop, and then zip them up.

    HTH.
     

Share This Page

Loading...