Win 7 & Vista dual boot problem.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jerryb, May 11, 2009.

  1. jerryb

    jerryb New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recently shrunk my Vista partition on my laptop to created a new partition for a Win 7 install. All is working great, able to choose either partition on start up with no problems.

    Now here's where my problems lie:

    I want to get rid of my original Vista partition (C:) and add the free space to my Win 7 partition (D:), however when I set my Win 7 partition (D:) to active in Win 7 disk management and reboot I get a NTLDR error. I must then load the gpart cd and set my Vista partition as boot to be able to either OSs, again.

    Let me know if there's any other info you may need, I'll be sitting here desperately hiting the reload button every 30 sec.

    Any help will be greatly apprciated.

    Jerry
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello and Welcome to The Windows 7 forums,

    Check control Panel > Administrative Tools, Computer Management , click Disk management and see what partition is labeled as System, boot, active, crash dump

    What is the size of Your C: drive at the moment?
     
    jerryb and (deleted member) like this.
  3. jerryb

    jerryb New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the quick reply!

    Sorry got my partitions backwards:

    C: (win 7) 29 GB 7 free - boot, pagefile, crash dump & primary partition
    D: (Vista) 84 GB 37 free - System, active, primary partition

    Also not sure how these drive letter got reversed, C: was the original partition of vista
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
  5. jerryb

    jerryb New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info, i will give it a shot
     
  6. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Boot up with the Windows 7 DVD as you would during installation, but click on Repair your Computer in the lower left hand corner and choose Startup Repair. Usually setup will detect you have an error before you even click on Startup Repair and automatically fix it for you.
    [​IMG]

    You may need to do it twice. You should then find you can remove the vista OS.

    You could also download and use the free program "EasyBcd" and rewrite the bootmanage/MBR, after selecting Windows 7 as your default OS.
     

Share This Page

Loading...