Windows 7 Activation Key --- Woops

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by MChim, May 19, 2009.

  1. MChim

    MChim New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I forgot to put the key in while I was installing and it skipped over it. Everytime I run certain programs (calc.exe for example) I have the damn Windows Genuine Notification garbage popup. How or where can I enter the key I have?

    Thanks
     
  2. BT!

    BT! New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    go into the control panel then click system, at the bottom it has "Windows activation" you should see a place that says "Change product key"
     
  3. MChim

    MChim New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no place that says that for some reason.. hmm..

    Right now it says Product ID: Not Available
     
    #3 MChim, May 19, 2009
    Last edited: May 19, 2009
  4. BT!

    BT! New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you click on the notification pop-up? in XP the WGA i think it sent me to a site where i could input a key or buy a legit copy or something? it's been a while since i seen that so i'm not 100% sure there was a place to put in the product key though.. might be worth a try.

    found this, (method 1 was just changing it under system)

    http://www.blogsdna.com/2233/how-to-change-windows-7-product-key.htm <<i killed the link because i'm not sure how they feel about off site links, so you'll have to c&p. :p
     
    #4 BT!, May 19, 2009
    Last edited: May 19, 2009
  5. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    You may have been given an alternative path by BT, who has customised his CP.
    Enter the Control panel. Enter "System and Security. Enter "System"
    Now. If you scroll to the bottom, you will see the activation option referred to.

    It should rarely be needed to try instructions in the Command Prompt. Without experience of using it, it could incur harm to your software.
     

Share This Page

Loading...