Windows 7 wont let me use 1600 resolution. Did when on Xp few days ago. Just purchased new OS... :((

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by RichSz, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. RichSz

    RichSz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, i installed windows 7 fine and both updated my GPU + windows with newest updates. I can enable 1280x1024 but no higher. No 1600 x [n] anything. Id really like to use 1600x1200 for games. When i was using windows Xp i was able to use 1600resolution so i am finding this very odd. I have a crt monitor CS990DC and its uptodate.

    When i try to use 1600x1200 which it actually says [native] next to. The screen switches off and as i know that by pressing escape i am able to come back to the screen how was before.

    I think i will leave the details there for now so I will keep an eye on this post. Hopefully someone is able to assist me with this problem i am experiencing. Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

    yours sincerely

    RichSz
     
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    I'm not sure, but have you tried other driver versions, for the monitor and for the video card?

    Do any other resolutions above 1280x1024 work ?

    Finally, is the refresh rate correct?
     
    #2 cybercore, Aug 11, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
  3. RichSz

    RichSz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i cant seem to find the drivers for my monitor on the web [maybe cos its an old monitor/crt]. For my GPU i am only able to find the newest driver for it. I cannot use any resolution above 1280x1024 :(.

    The refresh rate seems ok,
     
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
  5. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Connecting monitor through another port (vga, scart, composite, etc.) may be the easiest way to resolve the problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...