Windows 7 Windows 7 "XP Mode" Available for Download

Discussion in 'Windows News' started by piit, May 1, 2009.

  1. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,717
    Likes Received:
    380
    What ? Could you explaine further?
     
  2. piit

    piit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    10
  3. carol_s

    carol_s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    26
    If you mean The XP Virtual machine, then yes, it is available on the MS website.
     
  4. zaboomafoo1212

    zaboomafoo1212 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright thanks guys, and is the one posted the same exact thing as on the windows site?
     
  5. carol_s

    carol_s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    26
    Whilst this might be true of the motherboard/bios combination there is an interesting blog on this topic by Ed Bott who's research would tend to suggest that it will not run on all Intel processors, even fairly recent ones:-

    How many Intel CPUs will fail the XP Mode test in Windows 7? | Ed Bott’s Microsoft Report | ZDNet.com and
    How many Intel CPUs will fail the XP Mode test in Windows 7? | Ed Bott’s Microsoft Report | ZDNet.com (for a list of processors said not to work)

    So Joe_S, is your processor on that list as one which doesn't support Virtualisation??
     
    #25 carol_s, May 6, 2009
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
    Camride and (deleted member) like this.
  6. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,717
    Likes Received:
    380
    Thank god I only use AMD :)
     
  7. Camride

    Camride New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    12

    Wow, didn't know that. I would have thought all C2Ds would support VT. You'd think that only the low end Celeron/Pentium Dual Core would not have VT enabled. I wonder why they disabled it on certain C2Ds? The only thing I can think of is that the cpus that end up binned lowest are also the ones that have issues with VT (probably on the portion of the wafer that causes them to be binned lower). I can't think of any other reason to disable it, as it isn't going to save them any money by turning off a feature.
     
  8. paksarhad

    paksarhad New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi guys
    i successfully installed windows xp mode and also some applications on it. but i am unable to bring up network inside it. I mean i cant ping anyone on my network from within xp mode. Virtual PC setting is by default is in NAT mode. i am getting some weird IP in xp mode virtual pc but cannot seem to ping anyone on network. has anyone successfully accesses network from xp mode virtual PC ???
     
  9. john3347

    john3347 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    36


    Problem here is that there is no distinguisable pattern of compatible and non-compatible Intel processors. You just have to check your individual processor for compatibility. Some almost bottom end processors are compatible and they "skip and hop" all the way to the top of the line. (This one is and the next one is not)
     
  10. Danaw

    Danaw New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    XP Mode RC

    Hi All,

    I loaded XP mode RC last week when it came out and am now able to run the only program (out of 151) that wouldn't run on Win7 32bit. That is an antique game Shanghai Second Dynasty which I use as a time waster while holding on the phone. The only problen is when XP updates I have to reinstall Shanghai. Having XP mode running all the time in the background doesn't slow my machine down at all. The only other comment is that XP doesn't recognise one of the DVD drives and only see one of the 3 HDDs.

    DanaW

    My system is : Dell XPS420 , intel Q6600, 4GB RAM, 320, 120, 500GB HDDs GForce 8600GTS, PLDS DVD-rom, TSST DVD burner.
     

Share This Page

Loading...