WINDOWS NOT GENUINE after installing Windows updates

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by vjcolfax, May 1, 2010.

  1. vjcolfax

    vjcolfax New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Anybody here who knows the solution to this error message : "Windows not genuine" after installing updates from Microsoft, I already activated my copy of Windows 7 five months ago, everything is doing fine until I downloaded the automatic updates from Microsoft last night, I called MS customer service and they validated my Product Key and they said its a valid upgrade PK, tried everything like WGA diagnostic tool, changing to a new product key, rearming, clean rebooting, safe mode, phone activation, reinstalling the tokens, EVERYTHING....I even called the MS technical support, no solution yet and they even escalated my case to their Research Department. Please, anyone who might have an idea. It will be greatly appreciated.....
     
  2. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
  3. vjcolfax

    vjcolfax New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    did not work

    thanks mitchell but i have already done that...doesn't work....
     
  4. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    Microsoft indeed seems to have some activation troubles lately - no idea when it will be fixed. Did they give you a new key?

    you could try clean install again
     
  5. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica]You say you have tried WGA diagnostic tool, what does your WGA report say ?


    (1. Download and install the MGA Diagnostic Tool:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=52012)

    2. After running the MGA Diagnostic Tool, click
    on the "Windows" tab and then click on "Copy to Clipboard".

    3. Next, visit the following website and create a post in the
    "WGA Validation Problems" forum and paste the
    results of the WGA Diagnostic Data in a detailed post.
    Microsoft Forums
    [/FONT]
     
  6. vjcolfax

    vjcolfax New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    my last option is clean install


    yeah, i called MS Technical support and was helped by a very friendly and patient and very good in English guy from the Philippines who provided me several turnaround...he gave me a new PK, even downloaded that WGA tool, even reinstalled the tokens...every possible solution.....he decided that he will escalate my call to their Microsoft Research department because this is the first time they encountered this bug.....If not for that friendly guy frm the Phils., I could have lambasted MS for this, he assured me they're exhausting all possible solution in order to help me with my case....
     
    kemical and (deleted member) like this.
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Interesting post.. Please keep us updated as to the outcome vjcolfax :)
     
  8. vjcolfax

    vjcolfax New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    The Research team called yesterday. They don't have the idea yet why this bug happened. YOu know what the technician did? He just reverted my back computer back to a restore point ( before I received those messages ), installed the updates and everything was fine then. Magic, right? But I and even Microsoft itself can't even figure out what caused the bug.
     
  9. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    not magic - just make sure you do not install the messing update again or you are back to square 1
     
  10. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Interesting and Useful, thank you for the update. A simple system restore often does the trick. However, this may have also done it, in combination with the system restore:

    The updates didn't work with your old tokens, but then the updates worked well with the new reinstalled tokens. Since this was an upgrade, the tokens after the upgrade may not have been the same as the new ones that you reinstalled.
     
  11. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    This could very clearly be a bug in their new WGA (Windows Genuine Advantage) program, whereas your product key itself may have triggered something whereas you lost your activation. My best guess is that it is a case of something wrong with their activation/validation schema in extremely rare instances. They do mass-block stolen or hacked keys, and by giving you new activation information this solved the problem. From your postings it is strongly inferred that your product key and the associated hashes/tokens may have been inadvertently blacklisted in their never-ending attempt to combat piracy. But who knows? At least it is good to hear you are back.
     
  12. vjcolfax

    vjcolfax New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    i do agree

    this could be a bug on their WGA tool, or on their win 7 OS itself, for sure Microsoft is doing something about it.
     
  13. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    Microsoft is busy implementing geo-lock keys and that seems to cause some activation complications. However, not really a serious issue..just get another key.

    Had the same issue with my 7 ultimate - first key was blocked next day after successful activation, the second key worked better!
     

Share This Page

Loading...