📎 AI Summary:
The original poster noticed a new feature in IE11 where previous web pages appear to be "stashed away" after navigating between URLs, a behavior not observed in earlier IE versions. They inquire about the name of this feature and whether it can be enabled or disabled via IE settings. Subsequent comments clarify that the observed behavior isn't related to the "Load sites and content in the background" option, but the thread does not provide a definitive answer regarding the feature's name or its configuration.

xDisruptor

New Member
Member details
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
2
Thread Author #1
I apologize in advance if this is the wrong forum to ask this question. I just noticed something while inspecting IE11 with a tool called "spy++" (don't be alarmed by the name, it's a standard tool provided by Microsoft) and I wondered if someone could drop me a hint on what this new (?) feature of IE is. To replicate my finding just launch a new Internet Explorer instance and navigate to the following two urls one right after the other:

LinkedIn: Log In or Sign Up
LinkedIn Login, Sign in | LinkedIn

If you do this and then inspect Internet Explorer with the spy++ tool you will notice that the first web page is still there, just stashed away (you may want to have a look at the attached screenshot to see what I mean). I haven't seen this happening with previous versions of IE.

- How is this feature called?
- Is there an option in the settings of IE to enable/disable this feature?

An image from 'Internet Explorer 11 hidden frames / cached webpages'. Screenshot of Microsoft Spy++ showing window hierarchy with two LinkedIn IE tabs labeled as first cached and second displayed page.
 

Last edited by a moderator:

xDisruptor

New Member
Member details
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
2
Thread Author #2
Addendum:

I had a quick look at the options of Internet Explorer and got my hopes up when I stumbled upon the option "Load sites and content in the background to improve performance" but this option does not seem to have anything to do with the tab-caching thing. So this option is ruled out.