📎 AI Summary:
The thread discusses a user who moved their Windows XP profile's home directory to an old notebook's HDD connected to their desktop, only to find that the original data appeared empty. Other users suggest disconnecting and rebooting to troubleshoot or reversing the directory path changes. Eventually, the original poster discovers that the data was not deleted but relocated to a folder named "\AddOn," alleviating their concerns about data loss.

zrx8

New Member
Member details
Joined
May 11, 2014
Messages
3
Thread Author #1
Hello,

My notebook (xp) has recently broke down, and I moved its HDD to my desktop (xp) to access my data. To work with more or less the same environment as before, I set the home dir of the user on the desktop to the directory on the notebook's HDD that used to be my home. I have the same username on the desktop as the one on the laptop. Now I noticed with shock that the specified directory has been completely emptied. Is it a normal behavoiur of windows ? Are my data deleted or possibly moved to another place ? They aren't in recycle bin for sure.

Thanks.
 

Solution
Hello again, I am sorry for the delay, couldn't have a chance to deal with the problem.

So, to my big relief I finally found everything. My home wasn't wiped, only moved under a directory called "\AddOn" on the same drive. It may have happened when I changed the user's home. Scary, nevertheless.

Jimbo22

Essential Member
Member details
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
5,036
When connecting the notebook hdd to the desktop hadd, there was no need to make changes to the dir path to look at the data and back up the data. I'd disconnect the laptop drive and reboot the desktop to see if in fact your system boots up.
 

zrx8

New Member
Member details
Joined
May 11, 2014
Messages
3
Thread Author #3
excuse me, I forgot to mention that the notebook's HDD is connected as a slave, ie. the desktop is running off its own system HDD, as before
 

zrx8

New Member
Member details
Joined
May 11, 2014
Messages
3
Thread Author #5
Hello again, I am sorry for the delay, couldn't have a chance to deal with the problem.

So, to my big relief I finally found everything. My home wasn't wiped, only moved under a directory called "\AddOn" on the same drive. It may have happened when I changed the user's home. Scary, nevertheless.
 
Solution