3 BSOD Problems - please help

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by NicholasH, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are my computer specs:

    ASRock z170 PRO4S Motherboard
    Nvidia Gefore GTX 970 Graphics Card
    Intel i7-6700 processor
    16GB DDR4 Ram (2x8GB)
    240GB SanDisk SSD & 1TB HDD (forget brand)
    RetailPlus 700w PSU


    Windows 7 professional (version 6.1.7601 service pack 1 build 7601)
    Kaspersky Anti-virus Software
    BIOS Version/Date: American Megatrends Inc. P1.40, 13/08/2015
    SMBIOS VERSION: 2.8

    PROBLEMS: 0x00000024 (NTFS)
    0x0000001a (Memory Management)
    0x00000050 (Page Fault)


    I bought a brand new computer 3 days ago now and have been getting blue screens at (what seems to be) random times.

    I keep taking it back to the privately owned gaming system store in the small city where I live but it will never seem to blue screen when I'm trying to make it happen for him. He SHOULD be able to tell me something about these error messages but he doesn't seem to be much help so I feel like this is my last chance. 0x00000024. 0x0000001a (memory_management). 0x00000050(page fault).


    I will attach a compressed folder of the 3 dmp files
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 1A, {3452, 13646000, fffff70001100c20, 8f300001449fcc46}
    
    Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+33933 )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    all three dump files were different. You had a bugcheck 24 which can mean NTFS issues, bugcheck 50 which causes include ,anti virus, faulty system service or hardware issues (usually RAM). The bugcheck above means a memory management issue occurred and is usually caused by defective RAM.
    You could try uninstalling Kaspersky and see if that helps. Use something like MSE which is very stable:
    Microsoft Security Essentials - Microsoft Windows

    I also noticed your bios is out of date and some of the latest bios updates are related to RAM. As your getting bsod's to do with RAM it's worth flashing the bios but only if your familiar with this process otherwise I'd take the pc back to the store and ask your man to do it there for you.
    BiosVersion = P1.40
    BiosReleaseDate = 08/13/2015
    BaseBoardManufacturer = ASRock
    BaseBoardProduct = Z170 Pro4S
    ASRock > Z170 Pro4S


    If the bsod continues then you'll need to test your RAM. Windows does have a memory testing app but it can miss errors and the best app for the job is Memtest86.
    If you open the link below you'll see you can run Memtest86 in two ways. You can either burn it to disk or install it onto a USB drive it's entirely up to you. You'll then need to enter the bios to change the boot order so you can boot from either the Disk or USB stick you have Memtest86 on.
    You must test for at least 12 hours unless it becomes obvious there is a problem straight away.
    Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool

    Even though your RAM is brand new it still can be faulty as it's entirely possible to get a bad batch.

    You could even take the pc back and show the store this thread and then at least he'll know what to do.

    Post any new dump files.
     
  3. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is annoying because at the VERY start there was only one bluescreen.. and he found out windows was corrupted or something(so he said) so he put a new motherboard in and installed the OS instead of reformatting the old one. Thing kept working fine at the shop, I would come home and get blue screens. I went back and forth from the store to home and it always blue screened at home. He changed the RAM too.. The old RAM must have been good, now this one isnt.. i have no idea, this is so frustrating. I really don't want to go back to him for the 5th time for a bios update. how hard is it? I am familiar with booting from other drives etc.. but not updating BIOS'. I could probably accomplish this. But is it worth me risking ruining something on a brand new beautiful system?
     
    #3 NicholasH, Apr 2, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2016
  4. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    My thoughts are... I spent over two thousand dollars on a computer that had a bunch of faulty hard ware or problems. Something new should work like new or he should fix it, but he isnt doing that. I will post back when I actually have some technical information rather than whining :p

    I will try memtest but I certainly wont be able to run for 12 hours. It always bluescrens within 1 hour of constant use
     
    #4 NicholasH, Apr 2, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2016
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    One thing you could also try is popping into the bios and applying optimized defaults just in case something isn't set up correctly.

    When using Memtest86 it runs outside of windows so it shouldn't bsod. Just leave it running unless you see errors pop up pretty quickly.

    If you were going to flash the bios this is the best method to use. You'll need to format a USB drive into FAT32 and pop the file on there then it's simply a case of following the instructions. Print them out if need be:
    ASRock - BIOS Upgrade Instruction

    To be honest though after spending that kind of money I quite agree and you shouldn't have to be messing like this with a new pc. The dump files are proof enough that the machine has errors. One can simply google the bugcheck and get a basic idea so why your man at the store is mystified is beyond me.
     
    #5 kemical, Apr 2, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2016
  6. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last night I was doing a chkdsk on my SSD drive where everything is and it bluescreened during this process. Hopefully this wouldn't harm the hardware. I have a certified Microsoft professional coming to my house tomorrow who offers warranty for 3 months. He probably possesses knowledge similar to yourself. If he doesn't, I can always make him refer to this forum. Thank you very much for the help thus far, Kemical.

    p.s I have had the computer running for almost 2 hours now but im not putting any stress on it at all. I'm just using google chrome and looking at my dump files. Once I start using multiple programs, downloading something or playing my game(Archeage) it will bluescreen within 1 hour. I will attempt to try one more time but after that I will be waiting for the guy tomorrow. I'll let you know how it goes.
     
    #6 NicholasH, Apr 2, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2016
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Might be worth you checking temperatures just to ensure it isn't overheating by a ill fitting heatsink and fan. Hope all goes well tomorrow and please let me know how you get on.
     
  8. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I uninstalled kaspersky to start and ran archeage for most of the day. I had changed a few graphic settings and noticed textures were starting to get blury so I was going to restart the game. As soon as i exited the game i blue screened and now the computer wont even turn on. I wish I took a picture of the error now because it wont even turn on. I think it ended in 3b. I have never seen a computer just not turn on at all before. This is rediculous. It has to be the PSU right?
     
  9. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    It finally turned on by physically flipping the switch in the back I think. I had tried a few other things but I didn't think it was coming back. Now i have a 4th blue screen. I just booted to safe mode long enough to get the new minidump file and now I will be waiting for the specialist tomorrow. I would still greatly appreciate your opinion though. Here is the file;
     

    Attached Files:

  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffff80002c4cd1d, fffff8800a22f480, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption ( nt!MiDeletePfnList+1bd )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    this bugcheck can sometimes be attributed to graphics drivers passing bad code as well pooled memory corruption.. I've also seen it when the user has bad RAM. It seems memory was accessed whilst playing Archeage which then caused the bsod.

    You could try removing the gpu driver using the DDU or Display driver uninstaller. It does this in safe mode and makes sure everything is cleaned out thoroughly. Running it in safe mode if the best way to use it.
    Display Driver Uninstaller (DDU) V15.7.5.4 Released. - Wagnardmobile Forum

    I had another look through your drivers and this:

    AsrAppCharger.sys Tue May 10 09:28:46 2011: ASRock App Charger can be a BSOD cause, remove to test.

    PSU
    One thing I noticed straight away when first reading your post was the low quality PSU. PSU's should never be skimped on and I'm surprised that a two thousand dollar pc has such a cheap PSU.
    Your graphics card alone needs 28Amps and 500W. One really should always buy a branded well known model as skimping on the PSU leads to the issues you've been seeing. (blue screens although usually only when the machine is stressed particularly gaming)
    Try running the Furmark stress test (if you get back into the machine of course) and if it bsod's before finishing then you may have a PSU issue but watch your temps too:
    FurMark: VGA Stress Test, Graphics Card and GPU Stability Test, Burn-in Test, OpenGL Benchmark and GPU Temperature | oZone3D.Net

    Don't forget to check your RAM too whenever you get chance.
     
  11. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Kemical. Sorry for taking so long to give you an update. I had a very intelligent man come to my house yesterday who is a certified microsoft specialist or something. Anyway, he seemed to know his stuff and he pointed out all the issues. He said the same thing that the retail plus power supply is very cheap and that it's only 700W peak power, not TRUE power. Also the ram was all "fudged" and he told me to only go with Kingston RAM. I went back to the guy I bought from looking to buy an Antec, Seasonic, or Corsair PSU and to make sure it's truepower. The only one of these he had was a 1200W Antec and it had already been opened so we had to order a 750W truepower Antec Gold certified. I got him to change the Adata ram for Kingston ram(DDR4) but it didn't have a heat sink or anything. Probably doesn't matter but I was hesitant at first because most modern RAM has fancy heatsinks. And apparently im having an AHCI problem with windows 7 so I'm just going to be switching to windows 10 and the new gentlemen that came to my house yesterday will be coming back ones more time to install the new OS and customize it as well as fix any other problems.

    I'd appreciate any comments or concerns you might have about this. Thank you so much.
     
    #11 NicholasH, Apr 4, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2016
  12. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    #12 NicholasH, Apr 4, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2016
  13. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi,
    thank you for the update and I'm glad to hear you found someone who spoke some sense.. :) As for the RAM mentioned, if you check on your motherboard support page it will have a (or should have) memory compatibility list. Now you may not find the exact model/stick but if you find something similar to what your buying and it's compatible you should be fine. Post back if you need any further advice.
     
  15. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    The new 750W Antec TRUEPOWER supply finally came in today, and I switched the ram a few days ago as well. This SHOULD have fixed a few of the problems. I just received the 1A bluescreen again. Please tell me this is just the windows 7 AHCI problem and not hardware.. This is memory management error again. I am starting to lose my mind.
     
  16. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    the ram was just replaced 2 days ago. this is ridiculous. There are so many suggestion on things to try.. Try updating the BIOS, try re-seating the ram, try one stick at a time, try upping the volatage.

    Im searching error 0x0000001a but the parameter1, parameter2 etc are always different. The guy is coming back saturday to help me but I'm hoping to figure out as much as I can to relieve some stress.

    Any information would be greatly appreciated.
     
    #16 NicholasH, Apr 7, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2016
  17. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi,
    so sorry to hear your issues continue. I reread your thread again and see that when you changed the RAM over it was from the same supplier and i wonder if he simply gave you a another bad set of RAM (maybe not on purpose). It might even be an actual slot on the motherboard and the only way to find out is testing.
    It would be better if I could see the dump files but you'll need to test your RAM. Windows does have a memory testing app but it can miss errors and the best app for the job is Memtest86.
    If you open the link below you'll see you can run Memtest86 in two ways. You can either burn it to disk or install it onto a USB drive it's entirely up to you. You'll then need to enter the bios to change the boot order so you can boot from either the Disk or USB stick you have Memtest86 on.
    You must test for at least 12 hours unless it becomes obvious there is a problem straight away.
    Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool
     
  18. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will give that a try this time. This is a different brand of ram than the first time.

    Now i just got a BAD_POOL_HEADER bluescreen (x19)

    I've never seen this one before. Should I just give up on this thing or what

    now it wont even turn on again

    and finally it came back on... after unpugging things and moving it around a little. I have posted everything i have done on here to date and I am about to post the new dump files

    Here they are
     

    Attached Files:

    #18 NicholasH, Apr 7, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2016
  19. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    362
    Looks like Windows Defender is causing your memory BSODS. You may want to see if you can remove it and re-install or attempt to update it.
     
  20. NicholasH

    NicholasH New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Microsoft specialist who came to my house once before will be here on Saturday again. He has more years experience with these issues than I've been alive. He will be installing windows 10 and I will buy a 3rd set of ram just in case for when he gets here to try. It's pretty cheap. If he cant figure it out I can still return the whole system for a few days, which I will. Unfortunately I lose 15% by doing so. I require no further assistance. Sorry for being a pain.

    Thank you for all the help,
    Nicholas
     

Share This Page

Loading...