A Few Issues

MagicDrop

Ok I am new to building computers. I set mine up about 2 months ago and unfortunately I didn't partition the drive(480GB SSD) like I should have. Is there anyway to do that now without losing all the content I currently have leaving 1 partition with my games and videos and such and a 2nd partition with just windows 10 on it? Also I have am 8TB External HDD if that can somehow help.

Also I ran a test on my PC from the user benchmark website and I was performing well in all areas except in the External HDD, and my Internal SSD (numbers like 100 transfer when the others I saw where at 500) Anyway to fix this or did I just get a slow SDD?

Grab Crystaldiskmark and post some screenshot of the benchmarks. Also, let's have a look at your disks in disk management

this is what I ended up getting

Attachments

• Capture 1.PNG
    Capture 1.PNG
    37 KB · Views: 335
  • Capture2.PNG
    Capture2.PNG
    40.3 KB · Views: 328
Well I was hoping to get windows on its own and then have the rest of my programs and games in a separate partition. the Seagate is just to hold photos and videos for storage

There are many ways round your problem.. I would suggest shrinking your system partition to as small as you feel comfortable with (75GB ?). Then using the unallocated space as a new drive for your games. Simples ;) In most situations this can be done through Computer Management as in your screenshot above.

Or you could use the old Win7 backup utility to create a system image of your current setup to your 8TB drive, reformat your NVMe drive and start again. Making an image means you loose nothing. It's a great way to move your fave operating systems around.
EDIT - IMPORTANT - If you haven't already, make sure your NVMe is set to be a GPT drive, not MBR, or modern BIOSes won't see it as a UEFI boot drive.

Last edited: