AERO DOES NOT WORK WITH MY ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 GRAPHIC CARD WITH WIN 7 32 BIT HELP!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by firehot28, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. firehot28

    firehot28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello people, i have a very big problem.
    Aero does not work on my windows 7 and the graphics card i have is an ATI Radeon Xpress 200, it has more than 128mb of memory which fullfills the requirement of Aero but it still does not work. I have no Transparency and the old boring Dull windows
    I have also tried to update my drivers with the vista legacy ones but whenever i do that it requires a restart and when i restart windows says that there is some problem with this driver and automatically applies the VGA graphics :(
    Help is required,
    Thank you in advance :)
     
    #1 firehot28, Jun 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2012
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  3. firehot28

    firehot28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried this too, whenever i update my graphics windows asks me for a reboot
    and when the PC reboots windows puts on the VGA graphics instead of my graphics card
    do you think my graphics card is capable of Aero effects?
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    According to the above it is but try this auto updater from AMD: AMD Catalyst
     
  5. firehot28

    firehot28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    it says that it cannot install the software because i dont have a proper grafics card, and by the way that software is for notebooks, i have a desktop PC.
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Ok sorry about that, the xpress bit made me think you were using a lappie.. Try this:

    Use this app to give your system a clean:

    Phyxion.net - Driver Sweeper Be very careful and don't over use it.

    Then either try Windows update again or use the auto updater found here:

    AMD Graphics Drivers & Software
     
  7. firehot28

    firehot28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    driver.
    Kemical, this is what i get, my graphics card is an ATI card and i have both nvidia and AMD drivers installed, i got pretty confused when i saw this, which drivers should i remove?
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Just remove the AMD set. I should imagine what's happening is when you install the chipset drivers (which are Nvidia) they contain a copy of the display drivers as well.
     
  9. firehot28

    firehot28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    kemical, that did not solve my problem as well :(
    just to remind you i have an ATI graphics card, so what are the nvidia drivers and other things doing there?
    i removed the AMD set and that didnt help, i was still getting the Code 43 and the drivers i installed were still not working. :(
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  11. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    30
    I know for a fact that ATI Radeon Xpress 200 supports Windows Aero. You may loose Windows Aero a few times during use but Windows should recover and continue displaying Windows Aero effects. The periodic loss of Windows Aero pushed me to purchasing a graphics card to replace my on-board ATI Radeon Xpress 200 graphics. You might should consider doing the same and purchase a low budget card for about $40 or so.

    ATI Radeon Xpress 200 is not supported in current driver releases. If you want drivers for the ATI Radeon Xpress 200, you will need to download ATI Legacy Drivers. Not only are they Legacy Drivers, they are not designed for Windows 7. However Windows Vista drivers for legacy devices will work just fine under Windows 7. I noticed you have Windows 7 32-bit with ATI Radeon Xpress 200, the Windows Vista 32-bit Legacy Drivers are the ones you need.

     
  12. firehot28

    firehot28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    clifford sorry for replying too late, but in case if you have'nt read my previous posts, i have downloaded the vista legacy drivers, and they have been of no use to me, whenever i install those drivers and reboot, windows automatically applies the VGA drivers. Thats the problem.
    and says that the error is "code 43".
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Try turning off automatic updates. I always have mine set at 'check for updates but let me decide whether to download and install them'. If you have set to auto update then you have no control as to what is put on your machine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...