After the recent upgrade for win 10, snipping tool fails

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Upgrade and Installation' started by Nigel Garnett, Aug 27, 2015.

  1. Nigel Garnett

    Nigel Garnett New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My snipping tool was OK until a fairly major update on Win10 a few days ago.

    It will only work on my console background, for everything else it appears as if the film which occurs when active is too thick to see thro. If you guess and try to snip all you get is black.

    I've used the disk checking s/w for errors and it came up clean.

    HELP .... I use it a lot

    Regards

    Nigel
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi Nigel,
    if you right click on the Start menu icon you'll see a menu revealed. Click admin command prompt and type:
    sfc /scannow
    Press enter and await results.

    If it doesn't work then again in the same admin command prompt type (or copy and paste):
    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth
    Press enter and await results ( longer this time ).
     
  3. Nigel Garnett

    Nigel Garnett New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi kemical .Thanks for your prompt reply and assistance.

    sfc /scannow
    Press enter and await results. Found and repaired errors.

    If it doesn't work then again in the same admin command prompt type (or copy and paste):
    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth Reported restore was successful.

    Checked the snip after each scan but still had the same problem, this is so frustrating.

    Can I remove and restore the 'snip' ??
    Can I use restore but it appeared to be a large update ??

    Regards

    Nigel
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  5. Nigel Garnett

    Nigel Garnett New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Kemical,

    I've tried Jing and I get the same problem, I can't see what I want to snip, I just get a black screen

    Nige
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Can you either update or re-install the gpu driver?
     
  7. Nigel Garnett

    Nigel Garnett New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure how I do that ??

    Nigel
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Can you post the make and model of the machine your using, thanks.
     
  9. Nigel Garnett

    Nigel Garnett New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dell Inc. Inspiron 7537
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    This support page has the downloads you need. You can either download the drivers yourself and do it or use the automatic driver app found on the same page:
    Product Support | Dell US
     
  11. Nigel Garnett

    Nigel Garnett New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that and all your help Kemical.

    Regards

    Nigel
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Your very welcome! Post back if the issue continues but in any case please let us know the outcome as it may help others. Good luck! :)
     
  13. Nigel Garnett

    Nigel Garnett New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used the auto route for the driver updates (4 off), the 4th was manual instal of BIOS. it's always a bit scary with that because your not too sure what it's doing.
    Sadly it didn't fix my problem, it's difficult to understand how it works on my background picture and nothing else !!!

    Regards

    Nigel
     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Why not try system restore and go back to a point before the update was installed? Although ultimately this would only be a temporary fix.
    One way round it would be to take a screenshot of the whole screen and then simply crop it to what you want.
    If you press 'print screen' on the keyboard to take the screenshot.
    Open the Paint application.
    Place cursor inside of the paint app and press ctrl+v.
    You can then use Paint to crop what part of the screenshot you want.
     
  15. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Are you running any special desktop backgrounds?

    On the options with the Snipping Tool, there is an option to "show screen overlay". You might try unchecking that option for testing and then go back later to see if it helps.

    I just installed a couple of updates this morning. One was even for getting the Windows 10 system ready to install Windows 10... But I have not noticed a change with the Snipping tool.
     
  16. Nigel Garnett

    Nigel Garnett New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it's fixed

    I did the restore back to 19Aug and struggled to find the snippimg tool, seach stopped working. Found it and it was working, did the snips I needed.

    Then tried to undo the restore but the older sw couldn't cope with that, so just settled for reloading the Win10 updates.

    No further updates to download and the snipping tool is still ok.

    I can only think that removal and restore of updates got rid of whatever corruption occured.

    Very happy bunny now, thanks for all the assistance, very much appreciated.

    Brightens up the miserable weather we've got in the UK at present.

    Regards

    Nige
     
  17. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Glad to hear you got it working Nigel. Any further issues post back.
     

Share This Page

Loading...