Anti-Virus Programs in Win 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by one1djack, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. one1djack

    one1djack New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone have trouble with AV programs in Win7? I have Trend Micro 64bit version, and it works fine, but Windows keeps reporting that its turned off. When it is not.

    cheers:confused:
     
  2. kevin from Chi-town

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    8
    I had an issue with the kaspersky for win 7, I had to run scan in safe mode. But that was a one time fluke. Norton was ok, but the beta was only good for like 2 weeks.
     
  3. JeremyJukes

    JeremyJukes Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    5
    Windows 7 (64 bit) Antivirus programs

    Had very good success with AVG 8.5 free (both 32 and 64 bit).
     
  4. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    Avast home edition has yet to let me down despite stating it's not been tweaked for windows 7 yet, it runs without issue on mine since day one.
     
  5. Ppchkn

    Ppchkn New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Avast all the way. no problem at all.
     
  6. Harris2508

    Harris2508 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm doing a beta test for Trendmicro IS 2010 which will formally be compatible with W-7. It too is flagged by W-7 as being off. Hopefully this will be worked out in the final editions. I deal with this by turning off the warning for this flag. As you say, TIS works fine with my 64 bit W-7.

    --Bob
     
  7. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    I lost my copy of the beta by Kaspersky, cannot find another. I am now using Panda Beta it is good for 3 months, no problems so far. I most likely will purchase Kaspersky for W-7 as that is what I run on Visa and my laptops
     
  8. nehoma

    nehoma Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    7
    AVG windows 7 x64bit

    My AVG 3.5.364 worked well with windows 7 until I upgraded to build 7201 then the Firewall would not start and I am having to use the windows firewall. Hope all is sorted by RTM
     
  9. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running AVG Free and I've had no problems so far.
     
  10. confused

    confused New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    6
    I get that on my 32 bit version also (with trend micro). I just unclicked the message as obviously to me trend micro is turned on. I've been flagged by trend ect ect. Also trend is pretty fast at letting you know when it is turned off.

    Kind of annoying though.
     
  11. Kylethedarkn

    Kylethedarkn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    18
    AVG 8.5 is working fine.
     
  12. dre@ms

    dre@ms New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tried NIS 2009, but got a info from Win 7 tht Symantec heuristics driver is not comppatible with the version of Win. So using NIS beta for Win 7. Wil switch over to a gud one soon.
     
  13. peter2108

    peter2108 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    avast home edition, no troubles at all....
     
  14. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using AVG 8.5 on build 7229 with no issues at all.
     
  15. dre@ms

    dre@ms New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    2
    Installed KIS2010 Trial and works gud til now.
     
  16. NTGOG

    NTGOG Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am running Avast in conjunction with Windows Security Essentials with no conflict I also like yahoo tool bar with Anti-Spy but it wants admin rights with now way to set AM Rights its still working on other installs of W7 something I did :confused:
     
  17. carol_s

    carol_s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    26
    I was running AVG 8.5 but I had a couple of problems:
    1. It was flagged by the Action Centre as having a problem (although it was working fine)
    2. I run a program called Pictures to Exe which is a slideshow generator - these took absolutely ages to open (but the same file opened virtually instantaneously in Vista x32 and Vista x64.

    I am now testing Avira and this seems to be working well.
     
  18. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    I am using Kaspersky 2010 30 day trial on W7 64 bit only problem is the damn nags about how many days are left on the trial version. It is working fine. When that runs out I will try the new Windows Morro Beta
     
  19. dre@ms

    dre@ms New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    2
    ^^ yes, the subscription nag kills.
     
  20. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Windows Security Essentials still needs a little work.

    In an Internet open group, we ran some known malware through it. We found that about 50% slipped through the net. Particularly those keymakers. Avast, running as a second alternative, stopped them all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...