ATI Catalyst/Win7 Compatibility

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by Population96, Jan 9, 2009.

  1. Population96

    Population96 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    Has anyone been using Win7 with an ATI graphics card? I want to be sure everything will still work decently before I move over to the beta, if I can get my hands on a key. I've got a ATI Radeon HD4870x2 if anyone else has one who's running Windows 7. Thanks
     
  2. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    I have been using Windows 7 since build 6801 and I have an ATI Radeon 3870 in one of my pc's.. I've had no problems at all, the ATI Catalyst Windows 7 Preview Driver works flawlessly... ;)
     
  3. DRen72

    DRen72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running a 4870X2 with no problems whatsoever.

    CPU: Intel QX9650 / Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme
    Video: ATI 4870X2 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
    Motherboard & RAM: Asus P5E3 Deluxe (X38) / 4GB Corsair DDR3-1600
    Storage: WD Caviar SE16 WD5000AAKS SATA-500GB / WD 500GB My Book Premium ES / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives / Thermaltake ST0005U HDD Docking Station.
    Optical Storage: Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
     
    #3 DRen72, Jan 10, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  4. Population96

    Population96 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    Great, thanks for the replies. I'm going to upgrade today.
     
  5. Venoms

    Venoms New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm running Ati radeon 9600, working like a charm... also exepting updates from windows update.
     
  6. londahl

    londahl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running an x1950pro 512 AGP w/ 8-3_vista64_dd_ccc_wdm_enu_59753 drivers. No problem at all :)
     
  7. Horhhe

    Horhhe Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sapphire Radeon HD 2400 Pro AGP with Vista drivers from Sapphire works without problems
     
  8. londahl

    londahl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well... Just found out OpenGL in CS 1,6 is screwed. Only shows background, no menus or anything :(

    Edit: Will test 8-12_vista64_dd_ccc_wdm_enu_72276 and see if that helps
     
    #8 londahl, Jan 11, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2009
  9. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    HD3450 and 4670 work perfectly.
     
  10. lokman5k

    lokman5k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crossfire works as well, or at least it reports that its enabled and working, haven't run and games or anything.

    2 HD 4870's
     
  11. Trancebear

    Trancebear New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    With 8gb of system memory things start to get screwy. My ATI card can only use the first ATI driver win 7 installs in 64bit flavor. I have had no luck with the ATI preview driver or the one from Windows update.
     
  12. pcock

    pcock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, how did you get this running. With the beta drivers I have got for w7 the Install Manager tells me that everything installed correctly except for the driver which failed to install. Also the CCC wizard and the normall CCC application are installed but do not run. Whom has an idea (the prerelease driver seem to work fine but I cannot get my TV-out to work with the normal windows screen manager)?
     
  13. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    If you use Catalyst 9.1 for Vista, it'll install and run correctly in Windows 7.
     
  14. pcock

    pcock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Kyle, it works like a charm now. ATI Catalyst 9.2 is not working for my system! With the 9.2 version I do can see the processes CCC and MOM running but the screen is not showing.

    Only thing left is to get my remote control to work for my Hauppauge HVR 1110, the card itself is running fine in MCE. Do you have any ideas on this topic?
     
  15. pcock

    pcock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Catalyst 9.3 driver: failed to install

    Hello,

    Anyone who has tried the 9.3 catalyst driver for the ATI Radeon 9600? It runs but the driver fails to install. Any ideas?

    regards, Paul
     
  16. mogiman

    mogiman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys

    had a sim prob ,im running 3 3870s, went back to original drivers and cat8.9 or something ,then updated drivers (auto)w1.1 installed then reinstalled 9.3 and everything works fine now as it was only seeing two card now all working, dont forget to allow process access in your firewall
     
    #16 mogiman, Apr 3, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2009
  17. Matt

    Matt Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    8
    I got a X300 mobility, HD3200 mobility, and HD 4670 that all work fine under Windows 7.
     
  18. drevilwebmster

    drevilwebmster Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    I couldnt get the catalyst 9.3 too load and other have had the same problem
    dropped back to catlyst 9.2 64bit drivers and all worked fine
     
  19. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    yup get a newer video card people who think they should be able to run the latest and greatest on shonky old hardware make me wana laugh my arse off failing that use the 8.12 agp hotfix drivers :razz: oh if fixing a simple problem as a driver issue is a biggy for ya you probably shouldn't be tinkering with a beta OS go back to vista or xp where everything worked fine
     
  20. brandonM3

    brandonM3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    two 4870's in Crossfire - no probs

    No probs whatsoever -
     

Share This Page

Loading...