Audio Driver

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Chick3n, May 5, 2009.

  1. Chick3n

    Chick3n New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I just finished installing Windows 7 RC and my audio doesn't work. Well put it this way, it hasn't worked with any Windows 7 i've tried.

    It said it installed some audio driver but still no sound.. =/

    Well I can't print the screen to show you guys but on the volume control where the lil speaker is at it says "No Audio Output Device is installed."

    Thanks guys..

    Multimedia
    High Definition Audio Device
    Unimodem Half-Duplex Audio Device

    Thats what Belarc Advisor said about my audio... anything else you guys would like to see?
     
  2. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Sounds like you just need to find the appropriate driver and install it.. :) If your Audio is onboard than it's just a matter of going to your motherboard manufacturer's site and they should have the driver available for download.. ;) I'd suggest using the latest available Vista driver if they don't have any Windows 7 specific drivers out yet.. :)
     
  3. cmn

    cmn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    45
    Motherboard make and model. or if brand name PC exact make and model. Like Radenight said, If this MoB has VISTA support there is a good chance Sound should work with the latest Vista Audio drivers. BIOS may also have Audio Menu in some cases to be enabled or disabled for the sound to work. Once again the need to know MoBo details:)
     
  4. greenarrow1

    greenarrow1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    2
    Windows 7 Audio

    I am on my base computer and not the test one but you need to look in Windows 7 Devices and see if there is a ! or it is red lined. It actually sounds like your audio drivers need updating. If you have a on board audio (Motherboard) then you need to go to the motherboard maker and see if there are driver updates. If yu have a Dell, HP, etc then you need to go to their site and search for your computer model and update all drivers. If you have a installed card you should know what card you installed so go to their site and upgrade your drivers.

    On Windows 7 go into the control panel and click on sound and see what settings are selected.
     
  5. Chick3n

    Chick3n New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I dula boot with Linux Ubuntu and on Ubuntu it works just I have never gotten it to work with Windows 7 all other Windows it has :S

    The name of my PC:

    Medion m3 composer 5100

    System Model
    MEDIONPC MS-7046
    Enclosure Type: Desktop

    Main Circuit Board b
    Board: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD MS-7046
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
    BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG 06/23/2004

    those are some other specs I thought you guys might need...

    Medion M3 Composer 5100 PC Desktop - Product details and features - DealTime

    Thats actually it. Except mine got a graphics card :p

    I checked under Device Manager on Computer Management and under Sound it has High Definition Audio Device with the ! mark on it...

    I actually downloaded this and extracted it... I'm going to restart now...

    http://www1.medion.de/downloads/index.pl?op=detail&id=2319&type=treiberāŒ©=us
     
    #5 Chick3n, May 6, 2009
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  6. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Exactly what I said.. ;)
     
  7. Chick3n

    Chick3n New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I downloaded that file I showed you guys but now my windows wont even start it stays black so I went into safe mode and deleted it and nothing so I just decided to do a clean install... I didnt have anything anyways :p

    Any other solutions? As I really want to play this game and with no sound is driving me crazy >_> thanks dudes
     
  8. Chick3n

    Chick3n New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    any help guys please...? :(
     
  9. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Try hitting the F8 key (may be different on other manufactures) until you get to the screen that has repair My Computer, Safe Mode, Safe Mode w/ Networking, etc

    Choose repair my computer and I believe there is a link to System restore.

    You can use this to go back to a date in time before you installed the new driver.
     
  10. bobkn

    bobkn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    6
    I Googled up a manual for the MS-7046 mainboard. It uses a Cmedia CMI9880L chipset for its onboard audio.

    I haven't found any Vista drivers for the CMI9880L out there. Cmedia (www.cmedia.com.tw) may have dropped support for this chip. That suggests that Win7 drivers may not be forthcoming.

    All that I can suggest is disabling the onboard sound in the "integrated peripherals" section of the BIOS setup, and buying an inexpensive PCI sound card. (www.newegg.com has them for less than $10, although the shipping would be roughly that much again. There are Vista drivers at the Cmedia web site, above, for the CMI8738 based cards.)
     
  11. greenarrow1

    greenarrow1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sound Link

    Actually how old is your computer? The sound chip may be being used by computer manufactures but you can only update drivers from the computer makers site and not from C-Media. This is another type driver which is embedded in on board sound which the sound chip maker does not support directly from their site. Another words it is OEM within the chip to computer makers. AFAIK Intel uses this in the 945 series chips but I am not sure.

    Like stated previously I would recommend buying a cheap sound card which supports Vista because trying to update this on board sound just might bring your whole computer down unless your computer maker has an update on their site for it.
     
    #11 greenarrow1, May 8, 2009
    Last edited: May 8, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...