BSOD after new RAM

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Kazanagi, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. Kazanagi

    Kazanagi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I deinstalled Avast AV and TuneUp, I assume you mean Windows Defender?

    As for the Realtek Audio driver I don't quite get what you mean but just in case I deinstalled it too and got the newest version (R.275) from the Realtek site. I think I already got this one before but then in the MSI updater tool it suggested a newer/different version and I got that.

    Thanks for the help

    edit: Got one again (with new RAM)

    edit2: So after I got one again immediately after I started my PC, I switched back to my old RAMs. I guess it's the new RAM after all. Yesterday when I switched back to the old ones for a couple of hours I didn't get a BSOD.

    edit3: Just to be sure that I didn't bought the wrong RAM for my board.

    This is the RAM I bought: http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-Ballistix-PC3-12800-240-Pin-BLS2CP4G3D1609DS1S00/dp/B006WAGGUK
    To be precise it's this one I bought, but I think they are the same: https://www.hardwareversand.de/1600+Low+Voltage/125974/8GB-Kit+Crucial+Ballistix+Sport+Series+DDR3-1600%2C+CL9.article

    And this is the Board: http://uk.msi.com/support/mb/Z97_GAMING_3.html#support-mem
     

    Attached Files:

    #21 Kazanagi, Oct 26, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2014
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 10E, {1f, ffffc001a21f32c0, 0, 2fe88}
    
    Probably caused by : dxgmms1.sys ( dxgmms1!VIDMM_GLOBAL::PrepareDmaBuffer+190f6 )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    the above is for vram so just check your gpu please using this app:
    http://mikelab.kiev.ua/index_en.php?page=PROGRAMS/vmt_en

    I didn't see your new RAM in the list did you?
     
  3. Kazanagi

    Kazanagi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't it this one? Crucial BLS4G3D1609DS1S00.16FMD DDR3 1600 N/A 1.5V DS 4GB 4
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Looks like it but really the point is moot if the new sticks are blue screening.
     
  5. Kazanagi

    Kazanagi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've use the program, here are the results:
    Changing video mode to 640x480x16...OK
    [27.10.2014 10:21:49] Test started for "Primärer Anzeigetreiber (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770)"...
    Trying 16bpp RGB:565 mode...OK
    Trying 16bpp RGB:555 mode...OK
    Trying 16bpp BGR:565 mode...NOT SUPPORTED (Code: 80004001)
    Trying 32bpp RGB:888 mode...OK
    Trying 32bpp BGR:888 mode...NOT SUPPORTED (Code: 80004001)
    [27.10.2014 10:31:50] Pass completed (0 errors found).

    I've just checked the memory support list, my old RAMs are not listed but they are working fine. And I haven't gotten a BSOD yet with them
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Hmm... odd, but anything is possible with these crazy machines at times I guess... The new RAM which keeps blue screening have you tried using them with with a touch more voltage?
     
  7. Kazanagi

    Kazanagi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I haven't done that yet.
     
  8. Kazanagi

    Kazanagi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried running them with 1.6V but I still got a BSOD
     

    Attached Files:

  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    If you got a bsod that fast in using them then I'd return them. There is little point viewing the dump file as we know the culprit already. Are the sticks still within a warranty period?
     
  10. Kazanagi

    Kazanagi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah they should be, I just bought them in october sometime.
     
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Hopefully you'll be able to swop them with no issues then.. :)
     
  12. Kazanagi

    Kazanagi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I hope so too :)

    Thanks again for your help :)
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Your very welcome and please don't hesitate to post back if need be... Best of luck with the sticks.. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...