BSOD after waking from sleep and shutdown

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by fillswitch, Sep 3, 2014.

  1. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello!

    I've been troubleshooting this issue for months now and it is really frustrating. My issue is every time my computer goes to sleep/is shut down, when I start it back up, the computer works normally for about 7-10mins or so, and then BSODs. Once I reboot from the BSOD, my computer runs just fine until the next sleep-bsod episode

    I've done Memtest86+ on my RAM modules to see if they were the culprit.
    Module 1: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/bad_module/IMG_20140901_182529.jpg
    Module 2: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/bad_module/IMG_20140902_080050.jpg

    I noticed something strange on these tests though. When I would test my memory on slots 1-2, Memtest86+ would read my memory's speeds/timings correctly: 1866 9-10-9-28. But when I tested the same modules in slots 3-4, I would get half of that: DDR3-784 4-5-5-15. I then checked if slots 3-4 read with the lower speeds/timings in CPU-Z, but they did not; they read with the normal 1866 9-10-9-28. I'm not sure if that's an indicator of a problem at all, but it seems unlikely.

    Trusting my logic, I decided to see if having both modules in slots 1-2 would alleviate the issue. I put the computer to sleep overnight (usually the scenario that results in a BSOD) and upon waking from sleep, it seemed fine for about 10 minutes (just like before every other BSOD), then it crashed: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/bad_module/9-3-14.zip

    Here's my build for reference: https://pcpartpicker.com/b/rHBPxr

    Any ideas why this is happening?
     
    #1 fillswitch, Sep 3, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I'm just downloading your, I assume, dump files now. At 147mb there must be a few of them lol.. Looking at your memtest results I noticed the different timing readings which is a little odd. The only reason I can think of is that usually AMD boards have RAM slots which are dual channel. This can sometimes mean that certain slots must be used for the Dual channel system to work. My Gigabyte board for example has dual channel but only if the sticks are placed in slot 0 and then slot 2. Perhaps your board is similar (I'll know better once I read the dump file).
     
  3. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi kemical,

    Yes you're correct. My mobo runs dual channel on slots 1 and 3 (what I've been calling 0 and 2 in my original post). That might make sense why my speeds/timings are half when only using one module in either slots 3 or 4. I'm going to add my build to the original post for further context.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffff96000105a50, fffff8800a1eb0a0, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : win32k.sys ( win32k!MapDesktopObject+20 )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hey,
    your motherboard is exactly the same as mine apart from yours is a rev 4.00 and mine is a rev 1.2. The above bugcheck can be caused by corrupt data, bad RAM or a hardware fault especially when accompanied with Win32k.sys.
    Try removing the sticks and placing them in slot 1 and then slot 2. This is what the motherboard manual recommends for dual channel. The slots are numbered (starting from the one closest to the CPU : 4:2:3:1
    I would then remove the XMP setting you have applied, save, reboot and then apply the XMP setting again. (it's probably called DRAM E.O.C.P. in the actual bios - it is in mine)
    Driver wise your not too bad apart from:

    Rt64win7.sys Tue Sep 27 15:50:33 2011: Realtek RTL8168D/8111D Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet please update:
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=13&PFid=5&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

    RTKVHD64.sys Tue Dec 03 12:26:10 2013: Realtek High Definition Audio Function Driver please update:
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=8&PFid=14&Level=3&Conn=2

    xusb21.sys Thu Aug 13 23:10:17 2009: XBox USB wireless controller BSOD issues in Win7 with 2009 driver please update:
    http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/download/download.aspx?category=Gaming&type=Gaming&sku=JR9-00001

    Post any new dump files.
     
  5. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    kemical -
    Thanks for the insight. I am updating the drivers now and will reset the XMP settings too, after moving the modules to slots 1 and 2. I'll post any new BSODs. Thanks again!
     
    #5 fillswitch, Sep 3, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014
    kemical likes this.
  6. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi kemical,

    Yesterday, I swapped my modules to slots 1 and 2, reset the XMP settings and updated those drivers. I just want to note something. On my BIOS, I had increased the voltage for DRAM and NB because my computer wasn't reading the correct speed of my RAM. At the time it worked and brought the speed to where it should be. But since I reset my settings (voltage included), my RAM is reading 1866 like it should be. Strange, but I'll take it.

    Anyway, I let the computer go to sleep last night again, and this morning started it up. Unfortunately, same song and dance; another BSOD: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/bad_module/9-4-14.zip

    Let me know what you think of this one. Thanks for your help!
    Fil
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I'm just downloading your dump files now. Can you change your settings so they are the same:
    Your producing memory dumps and all we need is a small memory dump.

    In the meantime is your C drive larger than a Terabyte? If it is this could be the cause of your bsods. Apply this Hotfix:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/977178/en-gb?p=1
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffff80002e6fac5, fffff8800d904e80, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!ExpInterlockedPopEntrySListFault16+0 )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hey,
    another 3B Bugcheck . Try removing these drivers:

    AppleCharger.sys Mon Oct 28 01:59:21 2013:GIGABYTE On/Off Charge driver. May cause BSOD on Win7/8 systems - uninstall to test.

    xusb21.sys Thu Aug 13 23:10:17 2009: XBox USB wireless controller BSOD issues in Win7 with 2009 version try uninstalling to test.

    Code:
    EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%08lx referenced memory at 0x%08lx. The memory could not be %s.
    If after making the above changes you still get the bsod then you need to test your RAM.
    Windows does have it's own memory testing app but it can often miss errors and the best app for the job is Memtest86. The latest version of which can be found here:
    http://www.memtest.org/

    To run Memtest86 you need to either burn a copy of it to disk or use a USB stick. If you look down the page you'll eventually find the latest version and it's associated downloads. If your burning to disk choose the pre-compiled iso zip. If your using a USB method then the corresponding download is the auto installer for a USB stick.
    Once you have Memtest86 on the media you selected you'll then need to enter your bios and change the boot order so that the machine will boot from either the disk or stick you have Memtest86 on.
    Try and run the test overnight if possible unless it becomes clear that there is a issue. If there is a problem with the RAM you'll see the errors pop up in red so you can't miss them.

    Post any new dump files
     
  9. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hey kemical,

    My C:/ drive is not larger than 1TB. It is a 200gb SSD.

    I will try removing the above drivers and testing overnight again. I hope its not the 360 driver, since I love using it for my games T_T.

    And I did run Memtest86+ before to check if that was the issue. I ran 8 passes on each module:

    Module 1: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/bad_module/IMG_20140901_182529.jpg
    Module 2: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/bad_module/IMG_20140902_080050.jpg

    If you're saying that I should test this after confirming that uninstalling the two drivers doesn't fix it, then no problem. I'll run Memtest86+ again on each stick.

    I'll keep you posted after uninstalling the drivers.
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Ok Fil keep us updated thanks.. :)
     
  11. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 24, {1904fb, fffff88002971338, fffff88002970b90, fffff880012b2d4f}
    
    Probably caused by : Ntfs.sys ( Ntfs!TxfAccessCheck+9f )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi Fil,
    most of the dump files were Bugcheck 3B with memory corruption as the cause apart from the above. Bugcheck 24 can mean you have some disk corruption so it's perhaps worth running a chkdsk:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/guide-to-using-check-disk-in-windows-vista/
    (use the GUI method and ensure both boxes are ticked.)

    Run a System file check. Look in the start menu for command prompt, right click on it, choose properties and then run as admin. Type:
    sfc /scannow
    Press enter and await results.

    Try testing whether it's the XMP setting by turning it off and then trying to reproduce the bsod.
     
  13. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    I ran disk check, it finished, restarted, stated "Volume is clean" and then booted to windows. Here's a screen of disk check in progress:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/BSOD/diskcheck.jpg

    System File Check:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/BSOD/sfc.png

    And I have just reverted my XMP settings. I will let you know if I get any BSODs now.

    Just a question though: Is there any chance that my non OS drives (F: or M: drives just have media/program files) is causing this BSOD? Or would I only get BSODs from the OS drive? I was thinking of unplugging those two drives eventually to see if that stops the BSODs too. I'll try that if disabling XMP fails.
     
  14. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    So after reverting the XMP settings, I see in CPU-Z that my speed has lowered in the Memory tab (expected): https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/BSOD/cpu-z/cpuz-memory.png

    But in the Spd tab, the readings are the higher (desired) speeds/timings:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/BSOD/cpu-z/cpuz-spd-slot1.png
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/BSOD/cpu-z/cpuz-spd-slot2.png

    I checked my BIOS's readings on my memory and got the lower speeds/timings (expected): https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/BSOD/no-xmp-status.jpg

    Any idea CPU-Z is showing two different speeds/timings and which tab I should be reading?
     
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    The reason why your seeing a different speed is because CPU-Z is reading the 'SPD' which actually doesn't stand for 'Speed'. It actually means 'Serial Presence Detect' and is a small chip that contains all the relevant info regarding your RAM stick (speed, timings as well as other stuff). You should be going by the speed it say's in the Memory tab or the Bios. If you find the bsod has gone it could be that you need a bit more voltage applied to the RAM but let's see.

    As NTFS is mentioned then your external drives have to be taken into account. Your suggestion of removing them is definitely worth a try and sometimes debugging is a process of elimination.

    I feel I should also mention that apparently with Windows 7 and vista a bsod after sleep is quite common. Each solution seems different so it isn't down to one particular thing.

    Can you post how long you tested the RAM for please. I know you said 8 passes but I can't remember how long that is. Basically suspicious RAM needs to be tested for at least 12hrs as some errors don't appear until after a few hours or even 12hrs in some cases I've known.
     
  16. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for that info. Good to know!

    Also, I didn't know BSOD after sleep was a common problem. How strange. Good info too.

    The time my Memtests ran were:
    Module 1: 8h 23m (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/bad_module/IMG_20140901_182529.jpg)
    Module 2: 7h 45m (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/bad_module/IMG_20140902_080050.jpg)

    Once I test if I get another BSOD now that I've removed the XMP settings, I'll run Memtest for 12hrs each and post the results.

    One last question for now: Since I still got the BSOD after removing the Xbox 360 driver, would it be okay to re-install that driver? I would like to use it again for gaming. Thanks!
     
    kemical likes this.
  17. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Sure..lol :) Have a good game!
     
  18. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    Phew, I'm glad I can keep the controller! :)

    Just a midway update. I put the computer to sleep at about 1pm. I woke up my comp about 15 mins ago (4pm) and no crash yet. Usually it crashes 10 mins after, so this is a good sign! I will note that the crashes usually come after a computer-induced sleep mode, so I will update this thread after I have time to let the computer go to sleep and then wake it back up again.

    Fingers crossed!
     
  19. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Sounds Good Fil! I'll await your next post.
     
  20. fillswitch

    fillswitch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    Unfortunately, this post came a lot sooner than I wanted :(

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5772230/BSOD/9-7-14.zip

    Got a BSOD after waking the computer up this morning. This was after the computer put itself to sleep. From what I saw, it was an ntfs.sys BSOD. Not sure if it matters, but I have a Media drive (M:/) and I store my movies/videos/music there. Its also where my itunes stores my music. Right before the BSOD, I did open up iTunes and started adding music to it, which copies the music to the M:/Music directory. Just thought I'd let you know, in case it is related.
     

Share This Page

Loading...