BSOD - with my radeon HD 6870 only

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by willard, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. willard

    willard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    View attachment Seven Forums.rar

    Hallo there!

    I'm desperated and close to hang myself on a tree...:///
    I hope somebody here will be able too help me as I wasted already about 24 - 30 hours all together on digging through forums and changing my hardware configurations...

    In short:

    I was using my nvidia gts 8800 for few years. Recently it died (thats what I think) so I bought that VTX3D radeon hd 6870. I installed it in my pc, run the W vista32 and installed drivers from cd (came with the card). After reboot --guess what?--> BSOD. I tried to uninstall driver and install latest 2 drivers from AMD website but with same effect.

    Than my friend offered me taht he will borrow me hes sapphire radeon hd 5850 for testing and hes card run perfectly on any driver (even on 6870 driver).
    Next my friend took my card (6870) for testing in hes PC and he said he had no problems...

    Finally I installed W7 ad fully updated it, updated bios and changed primary graphic for pci-e and still same problem. 5850 - no problem; 6870 - BSOD
    I can't see any other options for me to do so.... HELP ME PLEASE !!!! :((

    Details attached
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Been talking this over with one of my colleagues on the site and the only thing we can come up with is that you may likely be exceeding your PSU's ability to supply the required amperage on the 12 volt rail for the video card demands.
    The PSU (Power Supply Unit) may be faulty or failing or just not up to the task. This is just a guess. I looked at your two dump files and it looks like you have a couple older drivers that might require some attention, but if the machine is BSOD'ing before the desktop or logon screen even loads it's not likely going to be any of those. So basically that is our best guess.
    Of course make sure your BIOS is the most current available as well as motherboard chipset drivers. But basically with the computer running fine with one card and not the other than I suspect it's a power issue or perhaps a cabling issue.
    Best of luck
    Randy with an assist from Rich.
     
  3. willard

    willard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hallo. ThaNKS for quick reply. The story with psu is: month ago I had 5-yers old Chieftec 540W. When my problems started (Lan wouldn't connect every time, some usb ports had some disconnection problems) I bought this brand new Antec 620W. Could that still be the issue? Guyss from VTX3D said that I should have 430W or stronger, so I think this is enough. Could new PSU be faulty? How to check that?
    I just remembered an issue I found on asus forums. Some of them had problem with recent high performance GPUs and they assuemed that the PCI-e slots on this motherboard (p5n-e sli) is only v 1.0 and Gpu are 2.1 now. But again they said the card wouldn't start for them at all. My card will start and work but only without drivers... what u think?

    btw Trouble: do u ever sleep?? ;p
     
    #3 willard, Aug 9, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    I think my head hurts..... and..
    you can ignore everything in my previous post, at least for the time being. Although Rich still thinks it may have a power component, when the card initializes post driver install or post reboot, when the new driver tests for various feature components like 3D, etc.,
    If the problem card works fine in the problem computer and apparently there is not a problem until you load "drivers", and after having loaded the "drivers" the computer will not boot much past the logo or login screen before it crashes, then well geez, it must have something to do with the "drivers".
    I would likely go with driver sweeper in safe mode and clean up your display drivers ATI / AMD as well as any remnants of nVidia (display) that may be left and perhaps start over.
    In the mean time will you update these two rather old drivers
    ASACPI.sys 3/27/2005 go here ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- Drivers and Download P7P55D LE (I know it's not your board, don't worry it's a common driver across ASUS boards) expand "Utilities", about twelve (12) down labeled "ATK0110 driver for WindowsXP/Vista/Win7 32&64-bit 2009.12.07"
    and
    nvm62x64.sys 10/17/2008 nVidia Network Adapter Driver, part of the nVidia Chipset driver package check here Drivers - Download NVIDIA Drivers
    while you are at it catch up your Realtek audio driver RTKVHD64.sys 7/28/2009 Realtek
    Not sure that any of that will actually help, but I am sure that it will not hurt. Just a few typical things we try to do when dealing with other normal BSODs. Yours doesn't seem to be normal but it is worth a shot.
    And yes I do sleep, hence the 8 or so hours that lapsed between your last post and my current reply. That was me.... sleeping.
    Regards
    Randy

    EDIT: Also, per Rich, check your system BIOS setup utility, and see if there is anything pertaining specifically to or regarding the configuration of the PCIe controller.
     
    #4 Trouble, Aug 9, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  5. willard

    willard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guyss thank you so much for spending your time on thinking of my problem. I really appreciate it !!
    I installed the driver from asus website and the realtec one but I cannot find the nvidia driver anywhere:(( Please could you give me some more directions how to find it?
    I'll do the driver sweeping after getting all theses drivers in place.

    About my bios I found :
    PCIE Spread Spectrum [Down Spread]
    Plug&Play o\s [Yes]
    Primary Display Adapter [PCI-E]
    OS Select For DRAM>64MB [Non-OS2]

    I didn't find anything else about PCIE in my bios

    BTW would those raports I pasted before tell u anything why PC freeze when I start it up after showing
    Processor Type: blah blah
    and not shows
    Memory Testing: blah blah

    It happens in approx 70% of startups
    cheers
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    One additional thing which might be worth a try for your particular issue.
    One of our members here usasma a very well respected analyst of BSOD issues and Microsoft MVP has an article over at Sysnative forum which outlines the installation of ATI drivers (only), without the accompanying CCC (Catalyst Control Center) software.
    Thought you might want to give it a go, just on the off chance that it would help the problem or at least advance the diagnostic process.
    ATI video cards - DRIVER ONLY installation procedure
    Thanks to John Carrona as well as all the other guys over at Sysnative for their continued good work.
    Randy
     
  7. willard

    willard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I left all the other options and tried the pure driver idea.
    I thought thats it. I installed the driver, restarted PC and it WORKED !! System recognized the card and I got into euphoria. But 3 sec later I realized, that it's ME soe it cannot be done yet. I said to myself: I'll start celebrating after 5 succesfull system reboots. First 2 were OK but with the 3rd after usual "loading windows", usual black screen and laud fan's speeding up ... pc switched off (instead of BSOD). Next reboot (I skipped window's repair tool and wanted to open in normal mode) it went with BSOD so I'm back to "normal" grrrr

    But there is something wrong with that catalist suit anyway because it did start properly 2 times...
    Whats your comments about that guyss?
     
  8. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    Sorry for butting in here, but I've seen quite a few of these at work.

    Most often the issues are caused by either corrupted Windows files or other drivers/programs that are interfering with it.
    What we suggest is:
    - updating all drivers and programs to the latest version available from the device manufacturer.
    - running SFC.EXE /SCANNOW from an elevated (Run as adminsitrator) Command Prompt

    Beyond that, we then try resetting the system (using System Restore) to a point before this problem started happening.
    If that doesn't work, then we recommend a backup, a wipe of the hard drive(s), and then a clean install of Windows.

    Updating all of the drivers is a difficult task, but you can look up most of them by:
    - looking in C:\Windows\System32\drivers and sorting the .sys files by date.
    - then start with the oldest one's and look them up in the Driver Reference Table here: Driver Reference Table (DRT)
    We designed this table for helping folks locate the most updated installation packages for drivers.

    If you can't find the drivers there, just post back and we'll see what we can do to locate them for you.

    Good luck!
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Not to distract from usama's posted recommendation above.... but Rich just brought this to my attention and I completely missed it earlier.
    If I am understanding this correctly your machine is failing to even POST (Power On Self Test) or at least finish the POST 70% of the time.
    If that is the case, then on those occasions when this happens you should be getting some Beep Codes suggesting a problem and what the problem might be. Consult your motherboard documentation or online resources to help you interpret the Beeps you are hearing and see if that helps advance the diagnostic process. Generally this would suggest some serious discreet hardware issue or minimally a serious hardware compatibility issue.
    Unfortunately your event viewer log files both system and application are in a language other than english which makes them difficult for me at least to interpret.
    Likewise the two dump files although fine from a language standpoint provide very little actual diagnostic information:
    DUMP 080812-30420-01.dmp:
    Code:
    BugCheck C000021A, {fffff8a003203160, 0, ffffffffc0000001, 100560}
    Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+5e1 )
    [COLOR=#ff0000][U][B]WINLOGON_FATAL_ERROR (c000021a)[/B][/U][/COLOR]
    The Winlogon process terminated unexpectedly.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: fffff8a003203160, String that identifies the problem.
    Arg2: 0000000000000000, Error Code.
    Arg3: ffffffffc0000001
    Arg4: 0000000000100560
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0xc000021a_0
    ERROR_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc000021a - {Fatal System Error}  The %hs system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0x%08x (0x%08x 0x%08x).  The system has been shut down.
    EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc000021a - {Fatal System Error}  The %hs system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0x%08x (0x%08x 0x%08x).  The system has been shut down.
    EXCEPTION_PARAMETER1:  fffff8a003203160
    EXCEPTION_PARAMETER2:  0000000000000000
    EXCEPTION_PARAMETER3:  ffffffffc0000001
    EXCEPTION_PARAMETER4: 100560
    ADDITIONAL_DEBUG_TEXT:  initial session process or
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    PROCESS_NAME:  smss.exe
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff80002f181ee to fffff80002abbf00
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff880`02cc74e8 fffff800`02f181ee : 00000000`0000004c 00000000`c000021a fffff880`02cc7608 fffffa80`044d1390 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    fffff880`02cc74f0 fffff800`02d08081 : fffffa80`04473186 fffff880`02cc7ca0 00000000`00000100 fffffa80`0370b970 : nt!PoShutdownBugCheck+0xae
    fffff880`02cc7570 fffff800`02b08544 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000004 00000000`00000000 00000000`0059f801 : nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+0x5e1
    fffff880`02cc77a0 fffff800`02eeb4b1 : 00000000`c000021a 00000000`00000004 00000000`00000001 fffff880`02cc7b58 : nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler+0xd4
    fffff880`02cc77e0 fffff800`02eecd23 : 00000000`c000021a fffffa80`00000004 fffff8a0`00000001 fffff880`02cc7b58 : nt!ExpRaiseHardError+0xe1
    fffff880`02cc7b10 fffff800`02abb153 : fffffa80`048f4660 00000000`00000001 00000000`0059f7f8 fffff800`02dcf094 : nt!NtRaiseHardError+0x1a1
    fffff880`02cc7bb0 00000000`76d111ea : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiSystemServiceCopyEnd+0x13
    00000000`0059f7d8 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x76d111ea
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+5e1
    fffff800`02d08081 cc              int     3
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  2
    SYMBOL_NAME:  nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+5e1
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    MODULE_NAME: nt
    IMAGE_NAME:  ntkrnlmp.exe
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4a5bc600
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xc000021a_0_nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+5e1
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xc000021a_0_nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+5e1
    Followup: MachineOwner
    and
    DUMP 080912-35193-01.dmp:
    Code:
    BugCheck C00002E3, {fffff8a002136820, ffffffffc0000189, 0, 0}
    Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+5e1 )
    Unknown bugcheck code (c00002e3)
    Unknown bugcheck description
    Arguments:
    Arg1: fffff8a002136820
    Arg2: ffffffffc0000189
    Arg3: 0000000000000000
    Arg4: 0000000000000000
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0xc00002e3
    [I][B]ERROR_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc00002e3 - Security Accounts Manager initialization failed because of the following error:  %hs  Error Status: 0x%x.  Please click OK to shutdown this system and reboot into Safe Mode, check the event log for more detailed information.[/B][/I]
    [I][B]EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc00002e3 - Security Accounts Manager initialization failed because of the following error:  %hs  Error Status: 0x%x.  Please click OK to shutdown this system and reboot into Safe Mode, check the event log for more detailed information.[/B][/I]
    EXCEPTION_PARAMETER1:  fffff8a002136820
    EXCEPTION_PARAMETER2:  ffffffffc0000189
    EXCEPTION_PARAMETER3:  0000000000000000
    EXCEPTION_PARAMETER4: 0
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    PROCESS_NAME:  lsass.exe
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff8000311bd6e to fffff80002cbf040
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff880`027b84e8 fffff800`0311bd6e : 00000000`0000004c 00000000`c00002e3 fffff880`027b8608 fffffa80`02d061d0 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    fffff880`027b84f0 fffff800`02f0bf71 : fffffa80`03dcab91 fffff880`027b8ca0 00000000`00000100 fffffa80`02dee960 : nt!PoShutdownBugCheck+0xae
    fffff880`027b8570 fffff800`02d092c4 : 00000000`00000000 fffff880`027b8ca0 00000000`00000000 fffff800`030eeffa : nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+0x5e1
    fffff880`027b87a0 fffff800`030ef031 : 00000000`c00002e3 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000001 fffff880`027b8b58 : nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler+0xd4
    fffff880`027b87e0 fffff800`030f08a3 : 00000000`c00002e3 fffffa80`00000002 fffff8a0`00000001 fffff880`027b8b58 : nt!ExpRaiseHardError+0xe1
    fffff880`027b8b10 fffff800`02cbe293 : fffffa80`03d90b60 00000000`00000001 00000000`0028fc88 fffff800`02fcf6c4 : nt!NtRaiseHardError+0x1a1
    fffff880`027b8bb0 00000000`777b09ea : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiSystemServiceCopyEnd+0x13
    00000000`0028fc68 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x777b09ea
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+5e1
    fffff800`02f0bf71 cc              int     3
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  2
    SYMBOL_NAME:  nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+5e1
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    MODULE_NAME: nt
    IMAGE_NAME:  ntkrnlmp.exe
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4fa38fe2
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xc00002e3_nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+5e1
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xc00002e3_nt!ExpSystemErrorHandler2+5e1
    Followup: MachineOwner
     
  10. willard

    willard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for reply usasma.
    I'll look at the drivers tomorrow a there is a lot of them there...(does it really necesery to update all of them???)
    I run sfc.exe scan and it found some fault but I can't open the report .txt
    The system w7 I installed just 2 days ago on clean HDD sor there could be no old remains of drivers.
    As I posted above I can't find that driver from nvidia - help me with that one [please.
    Trouble, thats the p[roblem with it: There is only one single beep like everytime when the screen appears but than after "Main processor" and before "memory testing" it freezes. :((
    I'll be in touch 2morro. thanks for help and good nite everyone.

    ps.Which execly report wasn't in english and which app created that report? I'll try to produce one in english 2morrow
     
  11. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    Sorry if I wasn't clear - I just responded to the black screen issue - and hadn't even looked at the dump files

    I believe that Trouble was referring to the Event Viewer logfiles not being in English.
    You can generate those reports individually by opening up eventvwr.msc and asking it to save the Windows Logs...Application logfile and the Windows Logs...System logfile

    From what I see that Trouble has posted, there are serious logon and security issues. Whenever I see these 2 in combination my first thought is "malware!". Please also try a couple of the free anti-malware scans here: Free Online AntiMalware Resources
     
  12. willard

    willard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I HaD the answer ready and I clicked wrong button ---> all gone grrrrrr
    So in short:
    I did some scanning yesterday:
    Eset - report attached
    Kaspersky - 2 different scans - found some little treats and deleted them
    I wonder if there was no malware or they just couldnt find it..

    About drivers, I made a start in updating them but its not easy for a noob. Sometimes I just dont know if file from lets say 12.11.2009 is latest or not.
    Another thing: eg hcw85cir3.sys --> I have only hcw85cir.sys in my system so this file isint in the table. When I look for cir3 ver on producers website - there is no such thing.
    The file ios a part of some driber, but I dont know which is it and what component it refers to. :((
    Beside, is that really necesery to update all the files in /drivers??
    View attachment threats.txt

    Im adding report from avg freeView attachment avg rep.rar
     
    #12 willard, Aug 11, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2012
  13. willard

    willard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to install pure driver again after few days of updating w7 and couple of system drivers. Got blue screen again.
    Thats what w7 showed me as a problem. Will that tell u anything? Sorry for the language again but codes r same so no difference.
    Podpis problemu:
    Nazwa zdarzenia problemu: BlueScreen
    Wersja systemu operacyjnego: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Identyfikator ustawień regionalnych: 1045

    Dodatkowe informacje o problemie:
    BCCode: c000021a
    BCP1: FFFFF8A002391ED0
    BCP2: 0000000000000001
    BCP3: FFFFFFFFC0000001
    BCP4: 0000000000100460
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 256_1

    Pliki pomagające opisać problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\081312-26644-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Will\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-55380-0.sysdata.xml

    Przeczytaj w trybie online nasze zasady zachowania poufności informacji:
    Zasady zachowania poufno[ci informacji w systemie Windows 7 - System Windows

    Jeśli zasady zachowania poufności informacji w trybie online nie są dostępne, przeczytaj nasze zasady zachowania poufności informacji w trybie offline:
    C:\Windows\system32\pl-PL\erofflps.txt
     
  14. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    If you've had another Blue Screen and a dump file was created and it appears both have happened.
    Maybe attach the dump file so we can have a look and see if anything may have changed there.
    And have you had the opportunity to test your new video card in both of your systems PCIe slots? Do both slots produce the same error?
     
  15. willard

    willard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was doing that just 30 mins before work so had no time for doing anything else but I'll attach the file first in the morning when I'll get back home.
    About the second pci-e slot, I did try once to place the GPU there but there was some other piece of hardware on the motherboard on the way as far as I remember. I'll try it again tomorrow too.
    I'm actually fed up with this case I must say so I'm preparing actually to send this GPU back to pixmania and I'm gonna ask them for same card from differend brand. I don't have time for this mess. I hope that will be no problem to replace it. What do u thyink guyss?

    OK thats the file below:

    View attachment 081312-26644-01.dmp
     
    #15 willard, Aug 13, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...