Insider Preview Cannot open WindowsForum

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by Sonny, Nov 28, 2014.

  1. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Windows Forum will not open for me in Build 9879. Anyone else having that problem?
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Nope... works fine for me.
    What happens when you try? Are you getting an error?
     
  3. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I can get into the home page but when I click onto a link it starts to spin and then get a message if I let it go for awhile that Windows Forum is not responding. As I said the home page comes up but is very slow loading.
     
  4. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Ok, Downloaded Opera Browser and I can open fine in it. I am thinking that it is IE browser that may be causing problem. Not sure.
     
  5. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Here is the actual message I get.

    Capture.PNG
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    I suppose you could try resetting IE to its' defaults and see if that helps.
    Does it make any difference if you actually log into the site or not?
     
  7. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Hi Trouble, logging in or not it does not make a difference. I have reset IE with no luck.
     
  8. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    For me that is (sorry) good news!
    I have had that problem, only with this site, since the Tech preview. I get a blank screen with the message that the site is not available. This happens very very seldom. I then use Chrome and the site opens. Close Chrome and try IE again - the site opens.
     
  9. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Hi davehc and trouble, I don't know what was causing the problem. I did install and try chrome and opening and closing and trying IE. It did not work. I just went and reinstalled Build 9879. IE is now working. Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...