Changing Boot

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Drew, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    FYI:
    This is due to folks asking about changing things in a duel-boot scenario. An OS was installed then, another, hence the dual-boot... we'll call them 1 & 2. NOW, they want OS2 to exist and boot w/out OS1
    The following is a way to do it:

    I had a dual-boot, Windows 7 x86 & x64. x86 was the 1st OS installed & held the Boot.

    Using bcdboot C:\Windows /s C:the boot was moved to the x64's parition. This is via cmd on the (now) 'preferred' machine, where the Boot is to be.

    Drive holding the x86 was disconnected, to confirm the x64 would, now, boot w/out the x86 in the picture. (optional)

    x86 partition deleted & formatted.

    In msconfig all boot paths, except the x64, deleted.

    Can & may use the, now, free partition for Windows 8; prefer, not virtual. (but, that's an aside to this discussion)

    Anyway, the above is how it's done. Quite easy & simple , really. And my 32-bit Windows 7 is no more. :razz:
    Regards,
    Drew
     
    #1 Drew, Feb 28, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  2. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
  3. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Did get rid of OS1 completely in the course of the described steps.
     
  4. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    Hmm, how did you get rid of the MBR entry?
     
  5. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Moved that @ the onset to OS2. Notice, boot functionality was checked (& proven) by booting into OS2 w/out the OS1 drive connected to the M/B. And the OS1 partition completely renewed.
     
    #5 Drew, Feb 29, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  6. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    I guess what you are saying is that you moved the bootmgr from OS1 to OS2. I am still not sure though how that cleans up the MBR (Steps 4 and 5 in my tutorial).
     
  7. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Would be the part in msconfig under Boot tab, deleted all boot paths except the one to (what was) OS2... this, also, makes the black OS choices screen be gone.

    The steps work, nice & clean & 100% proper, desired, functionality. When done, 1st had just Win7 x64 in a 'normal' set up & w/ no problems. Now, have dual-boot Win8 & Win7 w/ Win8 where Win7 x86 used to be. Everything working very nicely.
     
  8. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    Sounds good. When I applied a similar procedure, I still had the black selection screen. Then I applied the procedure described and made the tutorial so that others can use it.
     
  9. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    I didn't know about, hadn't seen the tutorial when or before what I did & passed on to others. More than 1 way to skin a cat... (?)

    Now, having just burnt the ISO to DVD, I'm about to install Win8 Beta (no more DP) & dual-boot Win8 & Win7, both x64.
     
  10. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    Watch out that you really can get a dual boot. I never had the chance to select anything. It just rolled along and upgraded my Windows7. But since I am always careful, I had made an image before mucking around with it. So it was no problem to get things back in order.

    I now installed it in Virtual Box where I have no real problem - just cannot get full screen resolution but the window is at about 1400x900 which is ok.
     
  11. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    No worries, I have a just peachy dual-boot set-up. Did the same thing w/ XP to Vista & Vista to Win7 & now Win7 to Win8 … For a while I had triple-boot (Vista, Win7 x86 & Win7 x64) kinda old hat, now. The choice screen this time , w/ 8, is AFTER it's seeming to go to 8 & it's green not, black. Plus, of course, you have to select "Custom Install" & the drive to be used.
     
  12. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    I never got those options when I tried to install from the DVD - only when I installed directly from the ISO file in vBox. I think I'll burn a new DVD and try on another system.
     
  13. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Hmmmm… All the way through my Beta-testing Vista, 7 & now, 8 have burnt ISOs to DVD & always had the drive location choice window & the Upgrade/Custom choice window after hitting Install Now. Maybe depends on the source of the files you are DLing. Do not use non-Microsoft sites.
     
  14. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    No, no. I know better. I downloaded from here: Download Windows 8 Consumer Preview My .iso is OK since it worked in Virtual Box. Only the DVD I burnt is a bummer. I'll make a new one tomorrow when I am fresh and chipper.
     

Share This Page

Loading...