connecting to the internet

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Networking' started by bobmilhar, Nov 27, 2009.

  1. bobmilhar

    bobmilhar Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently installed windows 7 on my Hp laptop computer and then was unable to connect to the internet with that computer, (not the one I'm using right now). I tried to figure out what happened, but without being able to connect, using that laptop, was unable to have the problem diagnosed by Microsoft, or anyone else, for that matter. Therefore I'm asking you if windows 7 is not compatible with my Hp Pavilion dv7, which came with windows Vista? And/or, can you assist me with my problem?
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,788
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Right Drew,. you shouldn't have to setup anything.

    Go to Start > Run,. and type ipconfig /all and post the results back here.
     
  4. bobmilhar

    bobmilhar Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ipconfig /all?

    After finally finding the run window, I ran ipconfig /all, but all that happened was a DOS type window appeared on my screen, for a split second; then nothing. I did this twice, with the same results.

    Additional information: I have cable and a wireless network in my home, and can not access the internet using either one of these mediums, when before I installed win 7 (upgrade), there was no problem. Also, prior to the installation, whenever I was on the road, I had no trouble whatsoever, connecting to various hotel's internet networks.

    ????
     
  5. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    You can't access the internet via wireless or ethernet?
    What exactly happens when you try to?
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Sorry,. first type cmd,. then ipcofig /all
     
  7. bobmilhar

    bobmilhar Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even though a wireless or other nework is available and appears to be working on the computer, for an unknown reason "windows can not access the internet," via these means.

    bmh
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    OK,,.

    That great news
     
  9. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    This is starting to seem like more of a software issue rather than a hardware issue.
    Could you provide us with the model of your networking cards? (Start>>devmgmt.msc>>Network adapters)
     

Share This Page

Loading...