Device Manager doesn't Run

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by AST, Sep 15, 2013.

  1. AST

    AST Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thought I'd try to get some insight here -before- I drive myself nuts and spend hours troubleshooting why I can't get the device manager to start. I even went to the system32 folder and tried to run it from there.
    Also from the start menu, services, performance monitor, computer management, etc... won't run.

    I'm sure something disabled it, however narrowing down the culprit isn't what I want to do on this Sunday afternoon.

    Any known issue's you may provide would be helpful,
    thank you.
     
  2. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
  3. AST

    AST Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it doesn't help, tried to open from Control Panel, CMD.exe, start menu, GodMode, System Props, etc.
    I'm thinking its a registry issue, I had to restore the registry before because a broken program messed with it.
     
  4. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
  5. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I don't know how well it will work since there have been a lot of Windows updates since SP1 came out. In XP the disk had to be very close with updates integrated or it wouldn't work. That's how I go involved with slipstreaming.
    Joe
     
  6. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
  7. AST

    AST Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ Joe I'm inclined to agree.

    Thanks for your help peeps, I'll continue to implement the advice. I ran Windows Repair (all-in-one). The results failed.
    My system runs great -so- I'm in no hurry, tomorrow will reveal better results, (I hope).
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I found the link at the bottom you might check. But otherwise, there may be several things which could cause such a problem. The registry, as you mention, or a service that is not running or a corrupted .dll file or probably several other things.

    So, some questions to see if we can track it down:
    Do you get the UAC prompt when you try to open it?
    Can you put any of the following in the Run box and get them to start
    mmc.exe
    devmgmt.msc
    services.msc

    Helpifican referred to the System File check. It might find some corrupted file and replace it. Let us know if it shows any unrepairable files.

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-performance/windows-7-home-device-manager-will-not-start/f281404f-3611-4841-af06-6d22813236b3
     
  9. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113

    If you are interested in trying to make a slipstreamed disk post back.
    Joe
     
  10. AST

    AST Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everybody, I'm pleased to announce "System File Check" -fixed- the problem. As it turns out, one of my Mods caused the problem, of coarse I don't know which one cause I was slamming them out like there was no tomorrow.

    @ Joe S - I have slipstreamed XP a couple of times with nLite, haven't done it yet with Win 7, couldn't find a free
    (I only do free) program that would provide the service.

    SEE: my site

    Thanks everybody for your help, :up:
     
  11. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Fantastic I'm glad you sorted it out.
     
  12. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I used Ryan's Integrator and update packs for XP. I used RT Seven Lite for Windows 7 and had mixed results. I found some places to download the hot fixes but they are just the standalone ones from MS. They aren't integrated into a pack like the update packs for XP. So you wind up with some updates that don't install. I supect A needs to be installed before B on some of those that didn't integrate. The last one I tried early this year left 10-12 that didn't install. It seemed to work OK on a VM.
    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...