Dynamic Disk Invalid

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by bdonk, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. ggb667

    ggb667 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, the hxD editor worked to fix the disk changing location Sector 0 location 1C2 from "42" to "07". Thank you bdonk!
     
  2. auden100

    auden100 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Talking to the Dell service man, I received this solution.

    he recommended that I just move all my data to my laptop while I reformatted the faulty HD. That, and transferring a lot of data with my flash drive, it all worked out. Not as timely a solution as I'd like, but permanent.
     
  3. p4l1ndr0m3

    p4l1ndr0m3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wanted to say thanks to the OP for this helpful thread. I was working on a backing up a dying hard drive, found this post, and 2 minutes later I am in business. I wish I could give you a real cookie, but this will have to do.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Kevin Beyel

    Kevin Beyel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Made an account to Say thanks HxD got me halfway there.

    After I changed the 47 to 07, the disk was recognized as raw. I could see all the data was still there from HxD though.

    After some googling I found a forum (wish I could give credit but lost it...) where a user recommended a program called TestDisk. The program was very easy to use, and works in multiple operating systems.

    Just wanted to say thanks and hopefully pass on some useful information. Data loss is a great thing to avoid!

    TestDisk - CGSecurity
     
  5. overoverover

    overoverover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also registered to say a BIG THANK YOU to bdonk !!! I spend 5 days to looking the answers from the Web, and finally I got you answer using HxD !
     
  6. rk10

    rk10 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Registered just so I could thank you bdonk! Thank you thank you. You saved me from total despair and now I type this on my recovered Win7 system! God bless!!!
     
  7. rk10

    rk10 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ohhh, I think you were supposed to change the 42 to 07. I believe there were three of them in that first sector. That could be why your file system was showing as raw instead of NTFS. I was so happy when my totally unbootable drive with lifeless alien looking partition just perfectly springed back to life. Well, the data was perfectly intact. Just had to follow step Three from this outstanding guide on repairing the bootloader using recovery dvd. Who would've thought simply converting my system drive to dynamic meant the worst MS Windows hell breaking loose...
     
  8. Constant

    Constant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    =D>
    I like other was also skeptical of following Bdonk's advice. I have been working on finding a solution for the entire weekend, including recovery programs and dynamic disk was my last option.
    I decided to try the HxD fix first and I can't believe how easy and quickly this resolved my issue.
    (For those of you still having trouble make sure you uncheck the "read only" box, just highlight the 42 and type 07.)

    My 2TB drive is saved!!!:D
    Thanks so much dude, you really should post your paypal account or something, there seem to be a lot of people with this issue and you helped us solve it so quickly.
    :-bd
     
  9. DJDoom

    DJDoom New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: A thanks and a question/problem

    Dude, I love you.
    Seriously, I do.

    I've had exactly the same problem - and when I say exactly, I mean really - I'm using the same number and sizes of disks, only my 500gb disk was called E.
    I spent like 3 hours looking for some solution for this problem, but I wasn't really able to find any. Then I found your post and you made my day, really. Huge thanks dude, I wasn't able to deal with the data loss.
    Thank you!
     
  10. Maurizio Nardin

    Maurizio Nardin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [langtitle=it]Re: A thanks and a question/problem[/langtitle]

    [lang=it]mi sono iscritto in questo momento per ringraziarvi , la soluzione proposta ha ridato vita al mio disco :)
    grazie mille[/lang]
     
  11. lowep

    lowep New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    1 invalid disk with 2 partitions?

    Hi
    Thanks for this advice that I have followed using HxD that has partly solved the problem I have with trying to activate an invalid disk with 2 partitions insofar as when I followed the procedure only one of the partitions became active and the other partition remained invisible. Any suggestion about what I need to do to remedy this most welcome.

    Here is the status of my current system:

    1) HxD shows 2 physical drives "hard disk 1" and "hard disk 2"
    My invalid HD "hard disk 2" has two partitions
    2) I use HxD to change the 42 to 07, save, exit and reboot the HD
    3) One of the 2 partitions opens normally, the other partition is invisible
    4) Used HxD to change the 07 back to 42, save, exit and reboot .... back to where I started.

    So not sure what to do?

    Question: Is this problem caused by switching my OS from XP to Win7. I ask since if this is true and nobody can advise how to solve my problem I reckon I should be able to find another computer with XP, hook up and back up my "invalid" external HD that hopefully will run as normal on any computer with XP as it used to do before, then once back is done reformat my external harddrive with my Win7 system, right?
     
    #31 lowep, Apr 10, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2011
  12. Psychoot

    Psychoot New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: A thanks and a question/problem

    bdonk you're my savior :)
    I've just installed a 3TB HD and suddenly one of my 1TB HD's was invalid and dynamic for some reason.
    The HD was kinda full so I didn't wanted to loose the data on it.
    A quick search on the net found this article and it fixed it straight away.

    Just registered to say my thanks for this awesome solution.

    PS: in my compmgtm it stated disk0 btw but in HxD it was Disk1 (Disk0 was not visibile, only Disk1 till Disk5)
     
  13. scarden

    scarden New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi there,

    just downloaded the program HXD but got stuck )o; Really desperate due I have important data on the hard disk.
    I just pulled out our 100 GB HD of our old computer and bought a external Storage case.
    If I connect it to our Win7 notebook via USB 2.0 the same error appears in the disk manager invalid dynamic disk - option reactivate is not possible...

    I don't know how to proceed with HXD . After opening it I can just open the USB HD because I can not find it. The only place I can see it at all is in the disk manager as invalid dynamic disk...

    Please help....
    Thanks
    sven
     
  14. stpo

    stpo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    really thanks ! i solved this problem perfectly by your method.

    appreciate you.
     
  15. Geeker11

    Geeker11 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 1 invalid disk with 2 partitions?

    I have the same problem as lowep! help!
    I changed the hex value from 42 to 07 on hard disk 2. But the problem was that i had partitioned my external HDD of 1TB
    into roughly 500 gb each. After i changed the values with HxD, only one partition was recovered and shows up in my computer the other is invisible.
    Anybody know how to fix this issue?

     
  16. uditw

    uditw New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Plug the drive into a Linux machine and it reads it with no problem whatsoever!!! (Windows 7 Pro refused to read it.)

    Background : I was experimenting with Dynamic disks as part of my WHS 2011 setup. I created a 2-disk mirror to save all my pictures, music and home videos and wanted to make sure that I could read the remaining drive if one failed.

    So before the server went 'live', I copied some test files over, shut down the machine, pulled out one of the drives in the mirror and plugged it into my Win7 laptop using a USB dock. Sure enough it was marked as 'Dynamic - invalid' in Disk Manager and unreadable.

    Checked the forums (which brought me here) and was about to try some of the suggestions but then on a hunch I plugged the drive into my Linux box. Everything on the disk was immediately accessible, no questions asked. Hats off the guys and gals at Ubuntu.

    For those who may be wondering - on completion of this experiment, I plugged the drive back into the WHS box and the mirrored volume showed up as 'Healthy'.

    Registered just to post this info, hope it helps someone down the line.
     
    webdevron likes this.
  17. akpalk

    akpalk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, thank you, thank you! This saved a lot of data!:thumbs_up:


     
  18. Pettros

    Pettros Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have followed all this with a similar problem and section 0 code at 1C2 reads EE, not 42 and have no idea what this means.
    In device properties it indicates type dynamic and status invalid, partition style GUID Partition Table (GPT).
    It is tempting just to change EE to 07 but am not sure. Your help deeply appreciated.
    Thanks heaps.
    This is re a Hitachi 500gb drive on a Win 7 HP 64bit setup. On a USB connection at present.
     
    #38 Pettros, Aug 27, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  19. Pettros

    Pettros Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did not get a comment but in case someone has similar issue with EE I bit the bullet replaced with 07 and bingo all OK.
    But could not save data as could only do a format which was not an issue as all files on the HDD had been backed up.
    So now have reinstalled and back to normal.
    Trust helps someone.
     
  20. Paresh Kalinani

    Paresh Kalinani New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    HEY!
    Even I have "EE" at 1C2. What do you mean by "But could not save data..." ?
    My hard drive has really, really important data of 250GB approx. I don't have an external hard drive or something where I can keep my files.
    Is it absolutely safe to type "07" at "EE" in 1C2?
    Are you sure doing this would:\
    1) Convert the disk from dynamic to basic.
    2) Not lose any data at all.
    3) Not arise the problem of invalid disk or something like that
    ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...