EE internet and wifi connection issues

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by Laula, Jul 16, 2016.

  1. Laula

    Laula Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My windows 10 laptop will only connect to my EE broadband through the Ethernet cable and not through wifi, any ideas?
     
  2. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    363
    Do you just have a modem or does it have wireless router capabilities?
     
  3. Laula

    Laula Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a wireless router (I can connect to the wifi on my phone which is android) but not on the laptop
     
  4. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    363
    As long as is there isn't any mac filtering and you have the password, you should have no issues connecting to the wireless with the laptop. Some items to confirm.
    • When you are supplied with a list of SSIDs (wireless network names) do you see yours available?
      • If no, you will want to check and see that the router and your laptop both support at least 1 common wireless standard 802.11a,b,g,n,ac
      • That you have the wireless nic driver installed
    • If you can see the network are you able to attempt to connect and allowed to enter your password?
    • Does it show that it is connected, no !s or Xs on the wireless icon near the system time (bottom right)
    • At this point if you have been successful, open a command prompt and type ipconfig /all and post a screen shot or the text at least
     
  5. Laula

    Laula Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I can see the wifi connection but keeps coming up with an error message (see attached) it did connect earlier in week before windows update and haven't been able to connect through wifi since then only via cable but wifi only available on phone and not laptop. It allows you to put in password but keeps coming up with same error after doing this.
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  6. bochane

    bochane Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    47
    It needs the security key!
    Look into your papers if you can find it. Otherwise you will have to open the Control page of your modem (with IE/Chrome/Edge) and see what is stored there.
     
  7. Laula

    Laula Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks but I have the password (and typing correctly) and still keeps coming up with same error
     
  8. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Turn off password on the wireless modem/router and see if it connects. If it does reenter the password and try again.
     
  9. Laula

    Laula Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks but that didn't work either, said no internet but connected to router
     
  10. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    So your issue is that it will connect to the router but not the internet with password enabled on the modem/router?
     
  11. Laula

    Laula Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes think it's something to do with update but have no idea what.
     
  12. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Please when logged into wifi do an ipconfig /all in cmd mode and post results.
     
  13. Laula

    Laula Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please see attached, thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    363
    Based on the first screenshot you are not connected and Windows is asking for your wireless password. The ipconfig results just reiterate the fact. You are not connected to anything.
     
  15. bochane

    bochane Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    47
    Is this really the output of "ipconfig /all" ? Weird....

    The output of #5 says clearly that you communicated with the modem, but that it did not accept the password that was stored. The output of post #13 says that there is no connection what so ever.
    If you really cleared the password and re-entered it in the modem then it can't be fault.

    I don't follow it right now. Perhaps could you try it all over again followed by an "ipconfig /all" output?
     
  16. Laula

    Laula Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help everyone I have finally got it work after switching router off, removing all settings and switching off laptop for a few hours still not sure what caused it but finally resolved.
    Thanks again
     
  17. bochane

    bochane Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    47
    Thanks for letting us know.

    So you went back to the starting point and that made the difference.

    Great to hear this :)

    Henk
     

Share This Page

Loading...