Expanding Windows Files 0%... Problem installing on new PC

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by citystreet, Jan 4, 2010.

  1. citystreet

    citystreet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was my first PC build and everything went well except for installing Windows 7.
    I am clean installing Windows 7 Professional 64bit.
    My BIOS is able to detect all my hardware (2 harddrives, dvd rom drive, dvd burner, 4 sticks of ram 2gb each, etc.)
    Hard drives are in RAID1

    While I am installing Windows 7 Professional 64 bit I get up to the point where it is installing Expanding Windows Files and it says 0%... and stays there. It has been hanging at 0% for 20 minutes and I tried to find out why. One source said to only have 2 sticks of RAM in when installing windows 7 and then put the other 2 sticks in after.

    Currently I have 2 2GB sticks of RAM in my computer. What do I need to do so I can get passed the Expanding Windows Files installation? Could it be my windows 7 disk? I have it burned onto a DVD and it runs perfectly up to that point.

    Here are my system specs:


    CPU
    Intel Core i7-860 Lynnfield 2.8GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor
    Newegg.com - Intel Core i7-860 Lynnfield 2.8GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

    Mother Board
    ASUS P7P55D PRO LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard
    Newegg.com - ASUS P7P55D PRO LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

    Hard Drive
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
    Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive


    Memory
    G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory
    Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL7D-4GBRH - Desktop Memory

    Graphics Card
    SAPPHIRE 100282SR Radeon HD 5850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100282SR Radeon HD 5850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card w/ATI Eyefinity - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

    Power Supply
    Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W Continuous Power ATX12V version 2.3
    Newegg.com - Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W Continuous Power ATX12V version 2.3 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC "compatible with Core i7/Core i5" Power Supply - Power Supplies

    DVD ROM and DVD+R
    Newegg.com - LITE-ON Black 18X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA DVD-ROM Drive Model iHDS118-04 - CD / DVD Drives

    Newegg.com - PLEXTOR Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 24X DVD/CD Writer LightScribe Support - CD / DVD Burners

    Internal Card Reader
    Newegg.com - Rosewill RCR-IC002 74-in-1 USB 2.0 3.5" Internal Card Reader w/ USB port / Extra silver face plate - Card Readers

    NZXT Lexa S case
    Newegg.com - NZXT LEXA S LEXS - 001BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases
     
  2. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Hello and Welcome to Windows7forums... :)

    That's an awesome beastly rig you've got there! Good stuff!! :)

    Have you tried the Windows 7 DVD on any other systems to verify that it is working properly? How have you partitioned you're HDD's? You said you burned Windows 7 to the DVD, so it's not a store bought copy then? Please explain.. It could very well be the Win 7 disk causing the problem.. What prog did you use to burn the ISO?
     
  3. citystreet

    citystreet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set up the RAID in the BIOS before I installed Windows 7. At my college you are able to download a copy of Windows 7 with a product key. I am not sure what was used to burn the disk since, but I do have the ISO file on one of my external harddrives. What do you suggest I burn the disk with?
     
  4. citystreet

    citystreet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    This is how far I am able to get.
     
  5. citystreet

    citystreet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh and when I installed I did the custom install not the Upgrade since I have no OS on my computer
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    As Radenight was indicating, the problem could very well be with the source DVD. I know I had fits with ISOs from my TechNet Subscription, until I learned to burn them using the slowest possible speed available. I used a program called ISO Burner, you can google it, you can set it way down to like 1x see if that might help

    EDIT: Sorry it was called Image Burn, my mistake
     
    citystreet and (deleted member) like this.
  7. citystreet

    citystreet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    It worked!!! Thank you!! I used imgburn and burned the ISO on a new dvd at 1x. it was stuck at 0% for 5 minutes and i thought it did not work but when I saw 1% I literally jumped for joy!! it finished installing in 20 minutes! My first PC build has been a success! Thanks again!!! =]
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Congrats...glad you were successful. Hope you enjoy your new build.
     

Share This Page

Loading...