F8 DOES NOT OPEN SAFE MODE OPTIONS

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by rdr66, May 14, 2013.

  1. rdr66

    rdr66 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ​Installed Win 7 Ultimate on a HP Pavilion g7 that was running Win 7 Pro. Everything runs fine, but for the f8 key. Regardless of when I depress the key during initial start-up, all I get is 9-10 loud beeps and normal start-up. I realize that, if all I were looking to do is use safe mode, I could access the function via command prompt. I want the button to do what it is supposed to do ... allow me to access the whole variety of start-up avenues.

    Yeah, I know, a little ocd on my part ... I just like things to perform as required.

    Hoping someone may have run into a similar situation and may know of a fix?

    Any and all input would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    RDR66
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Sometimes on lappies you have what's called a 'F' lock on the keyboard or try pressing F5 instead.
     
  3. rdr66

    rdr66 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    Tried the f5, but same result. No f lock that I can find on the computer either. SHould I even be concerned about this or can I simply let it go? lol
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Sometimes the bios seems to be involved in how the F keys work during boot. If there is a bios update, you might try that, but considering it is an OEM system the keys might be set up a little differently. I assume you did not use an anytime upgrade, but just loaded Windows 7 yourself?

    One thing you might try is to open an administrative command prompt and use the followings commands. Report back what the results are.

    reagentc /info

    reagentc /disable

    reagentc /enable


    The result of the /info switch should look something like the following:

     
  5. rdr66

    rdr66 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input! I'll check what you've suggested a little later today and I will let you know how I make out.
     
  6. rdr66

    rdr66 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried all that you suggested, including the bios update. No chage. I'm giving it a break as it does not seems to be disrupting anything. Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...