From XP Pro 32 to 7 Pro 64

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Sasquatch, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    What I currently have is:
    C: Win7RC x86
    D: XP-Pro x86

    What I'd like to get to is:
    C: Win7 x64
    D: XP-Pro x86

    But I can't seem to get that damn Windows 7 to install.

    My boot screen comes up :
    Windows 7
    Previous version of Windows
     
  2. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, as you can see from the screen shot, and Im not sure how this worked out, the C: is my system drive.
    I can't just format it from XP (D:)
     
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    It's difficult going back and forth between the screens because it just kivks me back where have to type in all the information again.

    Take a look at my screen shots and compare to your

    My Windows 7 is installed on the first partition on Disk 0.

    My Vista is installed on the first partition of Disk1
     
  4. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, your C: is your System and Boot drive...I'm not sure how this happened, but my System volume is my Win 7 drive (C: ) and my boot drive is my XP Pro drive (D: ). So I can't just move my "System" volume to D: to reformat C: lol
     
    #24 Sasquatch, Nov 10, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    No, you can't move a System Volume

    Are these Sata drives?
     
  6. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Drive D: is a partition of a SATA, C: is an ATA
     
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    What I had planned was for you to open the case and change the cables, usually red and blue for SATA drives.

    Since one disk is an ATA, this is not an option.
     
  8. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wanting to buy a new SATA drive to replace that ATA, but I'm half afraid to now that I see it's the system volume.
     
  9. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's the thing I don't get...
    Both drives are showing up with MBR's. If I simply remove the drive with D, wouldn't that force c: to become the boot volume as well as the system volume?
    So that I can then reinstall my OS?

    Drew I thought about that, but was afraid to try it with out being sure.
    In looking at it, I don't see an option to move to the OS on C:.
     
    #29 Sasquatch, Nov 11, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Use both SATA drives.

    I always have 2 hard drives in my computers.
     
  11. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I changed that in msconfig, and now my boot and system volume is reading as being on the C drive.
    Now I just need to see if 7 will install on it.

    I'm hoping that booting to the DVD to do a clean install will work.
     
    #31 Sasquatch, Nov 11, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  12. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah ok...
    Changing that in MSconfig puts both system and boot to C
    But when I boot to D, obviously, the system stays on C, but boot volume is D.
    This sucks.
    I need to reformat C.

    Ive been trying to think of a way to move the System files to D.
    Still no boot to CD.
     
  13. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know of a way to reformat a system volume?
     
  14. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180

Share This Page

Loading...