Windows 7 Halo 1

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by Mirrorboy, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. Mirrorboy

    Mirrorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    i installed Halo 1 on 7 and experienced MAJOR frames-per-second problems. i had to turn down the graphics to their lowest settings to get it to work. i was wondering if this was because of the interface using up all the graphics memory or something else. i plan on upgrading to 7 when it's finally out and i want to know if i need to upgrade my graphics (again) to be able to run my games (which is really just halo 1 (possibly 2), UT04 and UT3).
     
  2. stupidbiznitch9

    stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    its probably nothing more than a driver issue, that gfx card should be able to handle all the halo you can throw at it....
     
  3. Mirrorboy

    Mirrorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    i tried installing the Windows Vista drivers for the card and it didn't work, i still get the awful FPS ratios.
     
  4. stupidbiznitch9

    stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    did you try the windows 7 beta drivers? i had problems with the vista version of the drivers for my ATi card, the beta driver on the other hand was flawless...
     
  5. Mirrorboy

    Mirrorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    before i installed the vista drivers, i had a prerelease set of drivers but i had the same problem.
     
  6. stupidbiznitch9

    stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    which version of halo 1 PC right? 1.08? im using custom edition 1.06; also try reinstalling the beta drivers and try right clicking the properties on the icon and type "-use2.0" without quotations, in the target location, after the other stuff, see if that helps...
     
    #6 stupidbiznitch9, Feb 3, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  7. Mirrorboy

    Mirrorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm using regular halo 1.08 (not custom). i also reinstalled the beta graphics drivers. i haven't heard of the "use2.0" before, but i'll give it a shot.

    edit: it didn't work at all and this is getting extremely frustrating.
     
    #7 Mirrorboy, Feb 3, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  8. stupidbiznitch9

    stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok delete that use2.0, if nothing much changes with changing the drivers, more than likely nvidia just used the same drivers for thier "newer" beta version; try this: uninstall all drivers, and attempt to use the microsoft graphics drivers

    EDIT: if that doesnt work try other games, if they are all sluggish its probably a driver issue, if not, go into the nvidia panel and disable AA and AF for all games permanantly, usually AA and AF create problems with halo PC and CE...
     
    #8 stupidbiznitch9, Feb 3, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  9. Marshe

    Marshe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey im currently on an upgraded version of windows 7 32-bit. i have all the latest drivers and such for all but my pc's IR port [cuz no driver is available] and im trying to play Halo CE.
    I have all my settings at the minimum for graphics and i keep getting 5+ blue screens while playing. i have 2GB ram and celeron M 1.6GHz processor.
    I am also the computer admin and it still wont let me update for online play.
    Can some one help me here?

    like seriously isn't halo a windows product?
     

Share This Page

Loading...