High performance

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by oscarodas, Nov 27, 2008.

  1. oscarodas

    oscarodas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, I have an acer laptop (9800), and run windows 7 32 bit. for some reason I'm unable to set my power as high performance, is anything I'm not doing properly? Thank you.
     
  2. jakerrulz

    jakerrulz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea, same with me. i dont think that it has a "high performance" button bcuz "balanced" is really high performance =P.
     
  3. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    It's like jakerrulz said, It's already a high performance OS so no need for a " High Performance" setting. ;)
     
  4. oscarodas

    oscarodas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you. I just mentioned it because if you go to your power plan settings and choose "change advanced power settings" you get a new window, with 3 options : Balanced, High performance and Power saver. But changing the settings doesn't alter anything.
     
  5. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I am in Vista at the moment, so will post back. I am using a 9813 for 7 tests, and am using it, in Vista, at the moment. It certainly has the Advanced options in Vista, so I don't think the suggestions are fully valid? Or maybe there is such a big difference between a 9800 and the 9813??

    Off Topic, for the curious. I bought this laptop without future thought, as a laptop. I am totally delighted with it but it hardly fits the category of Laptop - more I would say a portable desktop- lol
     
  6. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I am back in 7 now and have just configured all the Advanced Power settings on the 9813 laptop.
    No suggestions from me so far??
     
  7. oscarodas

    oscarodas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    You missed my point, I'm talking about Windows 7, I also run vista and there's no problem. Well the 9800 laptop is a dektop replacement. mine is actually a 9805, I think the difference in numbers depends a lot in which regiona you are in.
     
  8. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    With respect, I think you misread my post. As I stated, In Windows 7 I am able to change the advanced setting on my computer.
    I apologise for drifting from the thread, which may have been the reason for you misreading of my reply.
    The relative numbers of the laptop are of no interest to me, I was only poning out that, as mine was a different designation ( or country, as you say - mine was bought in the UK) that perhaps there was also a slightly different hardware configuration which allowed me into the advanced settings.
    I still find it a mystery, however, as the program architecture is not, at this stage, a lot changed from Vista.
     

Share This Page

Loading...